Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was perfect. My hubby had been craving his mother's Bierocks and had talked about them many times. I called her with this recipe and she gave me the lowdown on what to do and what NOT to do: 1. Prebake the bottom crust for about 10 minutes. 2. Brown beef, onion and ADD some seasonings (we just added seasoned salt and fresh pepper). 4. Then add sauerkraut (rinsed, drained, blotted) OR fresh cabbage that is shredded for coleslaw (as the original bierocks calls for fresh cabbage). You will just need to cook it until softened. 5. As for the 'binder' to keep the meat together some other reviewers had mentioned adding a can of creamed corn or cream of mushroom soup! Yikes! This made my mother-in-law shudder at the thought. Just sprinkle the beef mixture with 1-2 Tablespoons of flour and add 2/3 cup of water to make your own 'gravy'. 6. Put the cheese ON the meat and NOT on top of the crust. Anyway, my hubby loved it and it satisfied his craving for the bierocks of his youth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rogers, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Wonderful casserole, Kathy. Just a few additions to spark it up though:Used 1/2 pound spicey pork sausage in place of the extra half pound ground beef; added extra half cup of Cheddar to the ground beef mix; added 2 cloves garlic, minced to ground beef mix; added 1 cup grated cabbage to ground beef mix (along with sauerkraut); and added 2T Dijon mustard to ground beef mix. You'll find that these changes really liven up this dish. I had no problems with the crust getting soggy. This is a quick, easy and stick-to-your-ribs dinner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
This is truly delicious! Per others suggestions, I added a can of Cream of Mushroom Soup (fat-free) to act as a binder. Added garlic and other seasonings to the meat. Also added a little more kraut and baked approx. 15 minutes longer. But it very simple, tasty and makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My family enjoyed this, and I will make it again, but it needs more flavor. One piece of advice for others: be sure to season the meat mixture to your taste. As the recipe is written, the mixture just tastes like plain cooked hamburger. Next time I will use pepper, garlic powder, etc., but I think it needs something else to give it some kick. I'm not sure what that is - I'll have to experiment. By the way, I served this with sour cream and applesauce. That's more a Russian thing than a German thing, but it worked great with this, and gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Quite good, easy and not traditional bierock, but a nice fix for a small amount of time. Two things, I did add the soup and feel it is a necessity. I baked the bottom layer of rolls for 15 minutes and it came out just right. Finally, next time the cheese will go inside. It's just too heavy on top and too salty in conunction with the soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
A big hit in our house! Reminds me of the pasties that you find in Northern Minnesota. I followed other's advice and added a can of cream of mushroom soup; also added garlic & celery salt & some hungarian paprika for spice. I put the cheese on the inside which worked well. Finally, I baked this in a 13 x 9 pyrex and the dough came out perfect, though others have mentioned some probs with doughy-ness. I think this would also be good with carrot & potato chunks mixed in with the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
this was pretty good, even the kids liked it. my husband loves saurkraut but the rest of us usually "suffer" through it. so i looked on this site to find something with saurkraut that we could all enjoy and this was it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This recipe was sooo easy! My family had mixed reviews. My husband really liked it, but my children and I thought that it tasted too much like saurkraut and not enough like bierocks. I will make this again, but next time I am going to use plain shredded cabbage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
we thought this was very good. I added 4 more oz of sauerkraut and had no problem with it being dry. Also added some onion and garlic powder to meat while browning and a few splashes of tabasco. Did not add the cream of mushroom soup. I baked the bottom layer of bread for a few minutes before putting the meat mixture in as other people had had problems with doughiness. I should have cooked just a little longer, maybe until just starting to turn golden, as was still a little underdone. Next time I think I'll try half ground beef half sausage. Was very good on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
An excellent recipe, easy to make, and even the family members that don't like sourkraut ask for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States