Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used luv2cook's suggestions and altered the recipe accordingly. We did enjoy it but felt it could use more flavor. I will make this again but I am going to use the saurecraut in place of the fresh cabbage and use more seasonings in the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe really helped me mix up the casseroles that I try to make on Sundays. It was very easy and I added a ton of seasoning and some mixed veggies and it really completed the meal for us. I also took the suggestion of adding the cheese to the inside of the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
liked it better using chopped cabbage and adding a can of cream of mushroom soup, also a sprinkling of cayenne pepper, but the sauerkraut was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. Instead of using ground beef I used a shredded beef roast that I slow cooked all day first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I was looking for a good venison recipe. This fit the bill, although I modified it by adding a 27 oz can of kraut which I chopped up a bit and 8 oz of cream cheese. I originally had planned on adding sour cream, since this is a Polish recipe, but I had the cream cheese on hand. I think it would have been too thin had I used the sour cream. Also, next time, I plan on just trying a regular pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMACRI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and then realized that the cheese probably should have gone inside the casserole instead of on top. The flavor was good, so I'll most likely make it again that way instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This recipes was good. I did make some minor changes, though. I did not squeeze the kraut dry, I let it simmer with the beef mixture for a few minutes to reduce the the liquid. I also used pizza dough rather than crescents, wich gave the dish a chewier texture and less "chemical" taste that crescents can have. Next time I might try a more coarsley ground beef, or possibly even pork. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
It was very easy and turned out great, next time though i think ill mix some plain cabbage in with the can of sauerkraut, because it was a bit too vinegary for my taste.Good when you need dinner in a hurry. Oh and I made it healthier by substituting beef with Yves Brand ground beef substitute, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Just found this recipe yesterday while I had some down time at work. Was curious to try it out! Took some other poster advice and pre-baked bottom crust for 10 minutes, then added cheese inside. My fiance and I loved it! He added some thousand island dressing to his, but said he liked it equally without it. I did season my ground beef with lots of garlic (which we love), salt, pepper, and a dash of Cavenders seasoning. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
My husband and I really liked this. The first bite was kind of a miss but it grew on us. I made some additions after reading suggestion from other reviewers. I added a can of Cream of Mushroom soup, 4 cubed red potatoes (steamed), and 6 cloves of garlic, that were grated, were added to the meat as it browned. Personally, I would reduce the amount of sauerkraut by about half. It throws off the texture a little. I didn’t have any onions so those were omitted. I would definitely make this again though and maybe experiment with other things to put inside. Maybe make it like Shepard’s Pie with mashed potatoes on the inside. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States