Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I haven't had Bierocks in ages. I always loved them when we lived in Kansas, but haven't found them since. A friend of mine's husband made his version the one time I visited. So I figured Allrecipes had to have something, I was so glad I found this. Changes I made: I didn't use sauerkraut. I bought pre-shredded cabbage and I cooked that first and let it set to the side till I was ready. I used the grillmates Montreal steak seasoning and salt and coarse pepper to the meat and onion mixture. I also used an extra flaky crescent dough that I purchased. Turned out a little too doughy and would scale back on that next time. I will definitely make this again. So easy. I had some for dinner, then took some for lunch and got home to find out my parents had stopped by and ate the rest. Even though they weren't sure what I was talking about when I described the bierocks, they loved the recipe! Thanks for adding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Simple but center was dry. Needs something to help this recipe and the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
My husband loved it! I just made my own gravy and cheese to thicken up the mixture. Very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I liked this casserole. it did have a very tangy taste due to the sauerkraut, but my hubby and I liked it very much. I only made 1/2 batch by pressing the crescent rolls out thin in a 8x8 pan. It probably would have been better with more bread, but I didn't want to spend that much on two cans of crescent rolls, being a cheap cook!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Bierocks are Runzas! Only this is way better than the ones I had at college in Nebraska! This was a quick, easy, filling meal. My husband & I scarfed it down, my 18mo son loved it, but my 5yo daughter wavered back & forth. I don't think we used enough cheese (we shredded our own & didn't know the equivalent), so next time we'll put in more. We used the suggestion of baking the crust first and making "gravy". Only problem is that it's not nearly as good leftover, so eat it while it's hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
EXCELLENT!! I made a few changes per others reviews. I used 1/2 head of fresh cabbage and steamed a little then added it to the ground beef, onion and seasonings (I used garlic powder, seasoned salt and pepper). I also sprinkled the ground beef mixture with a few TBS of flour and 2/3 or so cup of water to make a gravy. I then prebaked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes while I was putting the meat together. After putting the beef into the crust, I put the cheese over the meat, then the top crust. It was delicous! I couldn't believe my ULTRA picky 7 year old ate 2 servings! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Has a really intresting taste. was simple to make. We skipped the cheese and it was really good. Will be making again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This is a very homey and fulfilling recipe. I added seasonings to the meat of garlic powder, a little basil, and salt and pepper. I used about 1/2 cup of sour cream and 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese in the filling for a binder. I, personally, really liked the cheddar cheese on top of the roll topping. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this for just me+leftovers in a 8x8 pan. I used a whole head of cabbage to be more runza-like and only 1/2 lb of ground beef to be healthier. I only had red cabbage to use up, but it all tastes the same to me. Also, added a couple of beef bullion cubes to the hot mixture to add some beefy flavor without the calories. Laced in some swiss cheese and voila! The only thing I would change would be using frozen french bread dough next time to be more like the favor I'm used to. The cresent rolls didn't do it for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissCare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
we love this recipe & make it all the time. I love making it for new mothers - I usually get a lot of compliments. the only thing I do differently is add 1/2 tsp minced garlic & 1/8 tsp red pepper flakes to the meat/onion when cooking it. thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Foz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miltonvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clay Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States