Bierock Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I would have to give this a 4 star. I don't know if I did something wrong or not, but mine came out kind of dry. I loved the favor, but I made brown gravy and poured it over it and it was fine. I would probably make this again, hoping it comes out right. Nice and Easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGMAY80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Nice "different" type of casserole. East to prepare. This casserole would be good with left over corned beef and a little splash of thousand island dressing over meat also. Took advice from reviews & added fresh garlic & ground black pepper to meat mixture,( thought the garlic & onion powder would make it to salty w/ the basic salty taste of sauerkraut) & put cheese on top of meat instead of on top of dough. I used sauerkraut in the bag & drained and squeezed in paper towels till very dry so dough wouldn't come out doughy. I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
My family enjoyed this, and I will make it again, but it needs more flavor. One piece of advice for others: be sure to season the meat mixture to your taste. As the recipe is written, the mixture just tastes like plain cooked hamburger. Next time I will use pepper, garlic powder, etc., but I think it needs something else to give it some kick. I'm not sure what that is - I'll have to experiment. By the way, I served this with sour cream and applesauce. That's more a Russian thing than a German thing, but it worked great with this, and gave it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Excellent! I thought this was so good and easy, which is always a plus! I added Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, seasoned salt, and pepper to the beef while it was cooking. I also put the cheese on the meat mixture like some of the other viewers said they had done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
This was wonderful! and so quick and easy. I did add the saurkraut juice to the meat and onions while they were cooking and added some garlic,salt & pepper and tobasco for zip. The extrea liquid cooked off and left more flavor to the meat. We definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Very tasty, and quick. My family enjoyed the option of using pepper jack cheese. Easy prep and quick to the table. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM IN MISSOURI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
My husband grew up with this only they were folded more like calzones. After searching for 7 years for something like his grandmother's, I think I found a winner. He loved it! I am not a fan of sauerkraut, but it wasn't bad. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
It was great and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENOTA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I would add a cream sauce to the meat before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Although we really loved this dish, I'm only giving it three stars because as written, it would have been fairly bland. I used ground turkey and added a lot of seasonings and worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. Do yourself a favor and use bagged sauerkraut instead of the can. (much fresher taste) Also, using plain sauerkraut from the can or the bag doesn't do it justice. While browning my meat I put the kraut in a sauce pan and added crumbled cooked bacon and onion. I also added some caraway seeds. Cooking the kraut for a good thirty minutes makes a huge difference. I put the shredded cheese on the meat and seasoned my top crust with garlic and onion powders. Although I did enhance this recipe quite a bit, I certainly would never have thought of turning Bierocks into a casserole dish Cathy. Thanks so much for a great start!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States