Bianca's Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This is so delicious, I should have doubled it. I almost didn't put in the bell peppers because I usually don't care for them , but I thought I should at least try the recipe first and I wouldn't change a thing! This is my new favorite recipe ever! I can't wait to have a party and serve this, you just can't go wrong with this, I love it and will pass this on to all my friends, Thank you so much Bianca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Benton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
With a couple of modifications because I didn't have all the ingredients, this recipe was so yummy it's replacing my current favorite green chile recipe! I browned the pork with about 2T chopped garlic (ok, so we like garlic). Added no bell peppers but about twice the amount of green chiles. I only used about 1/2 c. of Sherry because we were out and left out the oregano. I never would have thought to use the cilantro and Sherry directly in the stew - what a wonderful taste - thank you Bianca!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
AMAZING!! I cooked this in the slow cooker for about 9 hours and oh my goodness how tender and flavorful. Will be making again soon! My whole family devoured this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
Excellent dish for potluck! Very flavorful and fresh tasting. Only problem is the salt tends to drop down to the bottom of the pot, so the final scoops tend to be very very salty. Would suggest using less salt to reduce overall saltiness and get the most out of the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Fantastic! This recipe has become a favorite in my house. I added 4 cloves of garlic and used chicken broth instead of water. I'll be making it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Everybody says the kitchen smells like an authentic Mexican restaurant when I make this! I forgot the oregano and it is still fantastic. My only complaint is although pork shoulder gives it a great flavor but is a HUGE pain to trim and cube. You get about half the meat after you clean it. I'm experimenting with some other pork/roast cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I have made this recipe twice now and i love it!!! Its my boyfriends favorite meal that I make. I serve it with homemade tortillas! Yum Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Yum. It was very good. I followed another viewers suggestion about cutting stew meat into small pieces and used green salsa as directed. It was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe I will be using it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This has become one of my staples. If you can get it, use fresh roasted green chile (make a friend in New Mexico). I use half the number of bell peppers but much more green chile. I never have sherry around, but I add a few slugs of rice vinegar instead. The longer you let it cook, the more tender it gets, but if you are starving or have a boyfriend who is pestering you for dinner, you don't have to let it cook the full allotment of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is superb!! I added 3 finely chopped Serrano peppers with seeds for a little heat. The chiles basically cook into the stew so it's not as hot as you might expect. Next time, I might even put more in. We loved it served with tortillas. Be prepared, though, because the pork shoulder is a real pain to trim and cube but it tastes great. Next time, I think I will at least get a boneless pork butt to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States