Bianca's Green Chile Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This was pretty good - though you have to take my rating with a pinch of salt. I didn't have a can of green chilies (dang hubby used them when I wasn't looking!), so I chopped up a couple of Thai Dragons from my garden - wasn't enough. Also, my cilantro has died with the seasonal cold, so I used dried. I had less meat, so cooked shorter. If hubby had gotten home earlier, the meat would have been perfectly tender - but it went a bit longer (on a lower temp) and dried out a bit, though still fairly moist. On the whole, this is worth trying again, but I'll want to make a few changes - and I should have topped with sour cream! (Didn't have it on hand.) --- OH! And I also served this as a "stew" rather than in tortillas. Might have made a difference??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gina brown
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
You have to really like cilantro to appreicate this recipe:) I made as is and man is it good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I tried it with a few changes; it was all I had and it worked. Two Twigs and A Bay Leaf, meaning...use what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2twigs & a bay leaf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I was so excited to find this recipe - I had a similar one from Sunset Magazine from back in the 70's, and really wanted to be able to duplicate it. I used a cup of rice vinegar instead of the sherry, and used only three bell peppers, as the ones I had were very large. The original recipe I had was made with some kind of vinegar, probably cider, and in a lesser amount. I am pleased to report that this recipe, as I made it, is exactly what I was looking for, and my husband likes it also. It is fabulous served with sour cream and flour tortillas. Some time, if we have sherry around I will try it that way. In the meantime, I will continue to make this on a regular basis. Thank you for a great recipe. This was like coming home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe is sooo good and really easy. We never use hamburger meat for tacos anymore- this is way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was very good! The only changes I made were to use 2 green peppers and less pork. I cut up some pork chops I had in the freezer and they ended up nice and tender. I will definitely make this again. Next time I will add another serano pepper to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Exciting flavors from following the recipe exactly. Next time I will add diced green serrano peppers to give more heat. Freezes and reheats well. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I would highly recommend subbing anaheim peppers for the bell peppers... I did, and it was fantastic!! Also used vermouth because I didn't have any sherry on hand. Very, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe is 5 Stars - made it exactly as stated in the recipe. My whole family loved it - Thanks Bianca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
this was awesome!!!! I had to use red wine instead of sherry. I didn't use salt. I cooked it the day before I served it and that may be what made it extra delicious as many stew type meals are best the next day. Definetely a do again,and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John’s Pork al Latte

Pork is simmered in crème fraiche and broth until impossibly tender.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States