Bhindi Masala (Spicy Okra Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Easy, solid recipe. I used ghee instead of oil, probably had more onion and tomato than listed in the recipe proportionally, and I think this worked out well. I also didn't have whole cumin and used ground, but this added extra flavor to the curry. I did not think it was bland as other reviewers said and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelyking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I love this recipe! I made it as a side dish one night when I had a lot of extra okra and it ended up being everyones favorite part of the meal. This will definitely become a regular in my household. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe is great. Easy for beginners (like myself). I made the recipe as-is (but halved it). The only thing I will change next time, is the amount of salt, it was a bit too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
The recipe was really good, but, I changed it up somewhat. Instead of fresh okra, I used a 1 lb bag of frozen cut and for the 2 fresh tomatoes, I substituted one 14.3 oz can of fire roasted diced. Still, the dish came out great and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
One of my go to recipes on busy nights. I reduce the salt slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I liked how simple this recipe was. Since I couldn't find fresh okra, I used frozen okra that was already cut into 1 inch pieces. I also used one 14oz can of diced tomatoes and it turned out quite well. With the extra liquid from the tomatoes I had to add more spices. I also added some cayenne pepper for heat! Will make this one again-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love okra and this is without a doubt the best okra recipe I have tried. Spicy but not overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I found this recipe bland. I added 3 cloves garlic, a little bit of fresh ginger, and used 2tsp garam masala curry powder. I also added 1 tsp chicken boullion paste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I wasn't WOWed by this recipe. I added onion and garlic and more spices to it to amp it up. It's pretty basic at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I thought this was just great - a good choice for a busy night, if you plan ahead enough to have okra on hand, that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States