Bhindi Masala (Spicy Okra Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Maybe it's because I just don't like Indian food, or maybe it was because my tomato was too big. Either way, after halving the recipe, I felt that there was not enough spice flavor, and WAY too much salt in the recipe (I would halve the amount).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very tasty! It is nice to have a palate that likes to try new food and is not so discriminate. Thanks for the recipe. Keep them coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I thought this was just great - a good choice for a busy night, if you plan ahead enough to have okra on hand, that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I wasn't WOWed by this recipe. I added onion and garlic and more spices to it to amp it up. It's pretty basic at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I found this recipe bland. I added 3 cloves garlic, a little bit of fresh ginger, and used 2tsp garam masala curry powder. I also added 1 tsp chicken boullion paste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I love okra and this is without a doubt the best okra recipe I have tried. Spicy but not overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rach
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I liked how simple this recipe was. Since I couldn't find fresh okra, I used frozen okra that was already cut into 1 inch pieces. I also used one 14oz can of diced tomatoes and it turned out quite well. With the extra liquid from the tomatoes I had to add more spices. I also added some cayenne pepper for heat! Will make this one again-thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
One of my go to recipes on busy nights. I reduce the salt slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
The recipe was really good, but, I changed it up somewhat. Instead of fresh okra, I used a 1 lb bag of frozen cut and for the 2 fresh tomatoes, I substituted one 14.3 oz can of fire roasted diced. Still, the dish came out great and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe is great. Easy for beginners (like myself). I made the recipe as-is (but halved it). The only thing I will change next time, is the amount of salt, it was a bit too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States