Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe was just okay in my opinion. Had a nice mild flavor but nothing spectacular. I did however double the OJ, soy sauce, and garlic powder but not the dry onion soup mix. I also marinated it for an hour before baking. The chicken was juicy (I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts) and baked for an hour (probably could have baked for about 45 minutes). If I make this again I think I'll cut back on the OJ and add more soy sauce. Otherwise it was good for a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
It definitely needs to be spiced up a bit. I used chicken strips since we don't care for thighs. I marinated them over nite and baked them. They were just 'ok" Next time I will marinate them and then roll them in bread crumbs and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I used chicken breasts instead of thighs but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Really delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I'll gave this recipe three stars because it was orange chicken but I didn't really get the orange flavor. All I could really taste was the onion soup mix. It was good but not what I was expecting. Next time I think I'll use only a half a package of onion soup mix and use some orange zest just to give it more of an orange-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
this was great, I doubled the orange juice for extra sauce, and added cornstarch to thicken the sauce. at the end i put the oven on broil to get a nice crispy chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious way to make chicken, especially for it being so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Totally needs more orange flavor and make sure you put it in fridge for a while it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was not orange chicken the way I'm used to it or expected it, but it was a good chicken dish. I would recommend it if you want to try something new, but I don't think its going to replace your favorite chicken recipe. But for a change and something a little different, its worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Not much orange flavor, nothing like the orange chicken you would find at a chain restaurant. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe! I followed the recipe to the letter (changing thighs to breasts) and my family loved it! I have made it a second time (at my husband's request :) and the second time I doubles the "sauce" ingredient amounts so there would be extra for the pasta. Thanks for something different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EricaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rantoul, Illinois, USA
Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States