Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this using only 4 bone in skin on thighs. After reading the reviews I decided to marinade the chicken in the orange juice for 40 minutes before baking. I baked it for 40 minutes using convection. It turned out perfect, I did add a little cornstarch to the suace to thicken it. Added green onions the last 15 minutes of cooking. Served it with couscous and green beans. The dish was very pretty. My bf said it looked great and tasted amazing. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mich&rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Certainly not what I expected, but pleasantly surprised. Now, knowing how salty these onion soup mixes are, I only used 1/2 envelope & that was plenty. I used 1 small clove of fresh garlic and I also peeled a mandarin orange and added it to the chicken about 10 minutes before removing it from the oven. Covered bake time for my chicken was 35-40 minutes! By the way...I used 2 boneless chicken breasts pierced the chicken breasts with a fork and marinated the chicken (in the fridge) in this unique mixture for about 1/2 hour before popping it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I marinated this overnight and used boneless skinless breasts. It was good, but just okay. There was an odd flavor. I tasted an Asian flavor, but my husband said it almost tasted like it had a liqueur in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
its easy n very good something I would add to my menu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good recipe. Couldn't be easier. I would never try this with skinless chicken- afraid it would come out too dry. It browned the skins really nice and the orange was perfect. I followed it to a tee. Was moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaz
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Made with french fried onions instead...all I had. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was pretty flavorful and stayed moist a lot better than I expected, but boyfriend found it overwhelmingly onion-y and I was annoyed at the long cook time and having to baste repeatedly. I made it again with two tbs low-sodium soy sauce and just a teaspoon of onion powder, and found it much more palatable (and I used smaller cut pieces of chicken to reduce the cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was great. Everyone loved it. I used low sodium soy sauce and no pulp orange juice. Didn't cange anything. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Easy and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I really enjoy this recipe, although I do cut back on the soup mix and only use a half of an envelope. This causes the chicken to be much less salty and allows the orange flavor to come though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States