Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
Wow! This recipe sounded good but I didn't realize what an impact it would make at dinner time. I've known my husband for close to 15 years and have been cooking chicken for him about as long. He said this was the best chicken I've ever made! I did tweak the recipe by adding a tablespoon of sugar during cooking, and then adding a 1/2 tablespoon cornstarch mixed in a little soy sauce at the end to thicken the sauce a bit. Yummy! I will certainly make this for guests sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
nothing to change about this recipe. i didnt think this would be as good as it is it has replaced my chicken breast recipes !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
My recommendations: very salty, so use low-sodium soy sauce instead of regular; if you choose to remove the chicken skin to save fat, as I did, double the sauce recipe, baste every 15 minutes and turn the chicken over every 30 minutes. This was very easy and my husband liked it, though my daughter and I weren't wild about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. It is also great to make ahead and set the oven to come on while you're on your way home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I didn't really care for the flavor... too bland for my tastes, although my boyfirend and son liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Thanks Janet, this was a very good recipe, and was pretty easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
It was ok, but we really didn't taste the orange flavor at all...it was certainly easy, but we expected more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This recipe was very tasty and easy to make and my whole family enjoyed it very much. Even though I used skinless thighs, I didn't have the need to double the sauce. Also I used 6 cloves of garlic instead of the 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and followed Joyce's tweaks by adding a tablespoon of sugar and a tablespoon of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Wow! This was so easy to prepare and we loved the flavor! I used skinless boneless chicken breasts and it was great! Definately a keeper in my recipe box! I think next time I'll marinate the chicken breasts for a few hours before cooking. We didn't think it was too salty at all as reviewed earlier. Thanks so much for posting this Janet...it's YUMMMMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
wonderful. I used ginger root and garlic clove crushed and marinaded it for several hours. at the last I splashed about 2 tblsp sherry into the gravy. thigh meat works best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States