Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Well, the onion flavor of the soup is very over powering, I barely could taste the orange. If I ever make this again I will use just a 1/2 pkg of the onion soup mix. I had frozen blsl thighs so I put them in a casserole, poured the sauce over and covered and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. I then uncovered and baked 30 more minutes, the chicken was very tender and juicy, but just not enough flavor. And.. I don't know what I would add to give it the oomph it needs.. oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
We didn't find this to be very tasty at all. Cooked up moist but ended up rinsing the sauce off and using the chicken in another dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This recipe was just okay in my opinion. Had a nice mild flavor but nothing spectacular. I did however double the OJ, soy sauce, and garlic powder but not the dry onion soup mix. I also marinated it for an hour before baking. The chicken was juicy (I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts) and baked for an hour (probably could have baked for about 45 minutes). If I make this again I think I'll cut back on the OJ and add more soy sauce. Otherwise it was good for a quick and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
It definitely needs to be spiced up a bit. I used chicken strips since we don't care for thighs. I marinated them over nite and baked them. They were just 'ok" Next time I will marinate them and then roll them in bread crumbs and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I used chicken breasts instead of thighs but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Really delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I'll gave this recipe three stars because it was orange chicken but I didn't really get the orange flavor. All I could really taste was the onion soup mix. It was good but not what I was expecting. Next time I think I'll use only a half a package of onion soup mix and use some orange zest just to give it more of an orange-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
this was great, I doubled the orange juice for extra sauce, and added cornstarch to thicken the sauce. at the end i put the oven on broil to get a nice crispy chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Absolutely delicious way to make chicken, especially for it being so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Totally needs more orange flavor and make sure you put it in fridge for a while it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was not orange chicken the way I'm used to it or expected it, but it was a good chicken dish. I would recommend it if you want to try something new, but I don't think its going to replace your favorite chicken recipe. But for a change and something a little different, its worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Braised Orange Chicken

See how to make a simple orange sauce with chicken thighs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States