Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
O.k. Talk about EXCELLENT!! This was some of the best chicken I have ever had, or made for that matter! I followed the recipe with the following modifications: 1) Used 3 lbs of wing portions as I wanted to make sure I would like the taste first (next time I'll do drumsticks & Thighs); 2) I used 2.5 cups of OJ and 2 packets of soy sauce (from the Chinese restaurant). I also seasoned the season on both sides with garlic powder and black pepper. As far as cooking directions, I cooked uncovered at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes, then turned chicken turned chicken ever 20 minutes thereafter until tender or sauce thickened. WILL DEFINITELY BE MAKING THESE AGAIN. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very easy to make and tast good. I ate some chicken too soon. The sauce wasn't that thick at that time. I realized that the sauce would get thick if you cook for what the recipe says. The chicken tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was a pretty good recipe. The chicken had good flavor, although it was a mild flavor. Maybe soaking the chicken a few hours before baking would help? I poured off the liquid when the chicken was done, skimmed off the grease, added some brown sugar and thickened with cornstarch. That was pretty good. I served it over rice, and it had a lot of flavor. I may make this again, but will definitely marinate the chicken before baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Enjoyed this main dish last night with some friends! Easy, tasty - we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Was a good meal for the family. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
It's not that this dish was bad, it's just not what I thought it would be, and that's probably my fault. I thought that the sauce would come out more like a glaze. Instead, it's pretty much boiled chicken sitting in very liquid sauce. It didn't taste bad, but no one was thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
You must like chicken thighs (I don't like chicken on the bone, but took a shot). I didn't find this very orangy and I'd probably add more soy sauce. Also might want to sweeten with honey. I didn't follow exactly though. I used 12 thighs, doubled the soy and OJ to make more sauce as others suggested. I also took off most of the skin and still found it greasy. My kids are eating it doused with ketchup right now. My husband opted for hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is really good! It's moist, tender...delicious recipe! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this using only 4 bone in skin on thighs. After reading the reviews I decided to marinade the chicken in the orange juice for 40 minutes before baking. I baked it for 40 minutes using convection. It turned out perfect, I did add a little cornstarch to the suace to thicken it. Added green onions the last 15 minutes of cooking. Served it with couscous and green beans. The dish was very pretty. My bf said it looked great and tasted amazing. I'll definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mich&rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Certainly not what I expected, but pleasantly surprised. Now, knowing how salty these onion soup mixes are, I only used 1/2 envelope & that was plenty. I used 1 small clove of fresh garlic and I also peeled a mandarin orange and added it to the chicken about 10 minutes before removing it from the oven. Covered bake time for my chicken was 35-40 minutes! By the way...I used 2 boneless chicken breasts pierced the chicken breasts with a fork and marinated the chicken (in the fridge) in this unique mixture for about 1/2 hour before popping it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States