Bev's Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was ok for me. it had good orange flavor to it, but the onion soup mix was a little to much for me. This did not re-heat well either. This is one of the recipes that had ok flavor but i would work with a little if i made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holliston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
All I got was a thank you for this one. No rave reviews or compliments. I had high hopes for this one, but we were disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very tasty...I just used a small onion grated in a cheese grater instead of onion soup mix. then added a little salt to my own taste. Over all a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this with chicken breast and did not like it at all. It was edible, but I won't recommend or make it again. I even followed some tips from other reviews and seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and a pinch of ginger. It was moist and flavorfull, I just did not like the flavor or the texture of the chicken. The only way I see this being a successful recipe is if it was made with dark meat which was marinated in the sauce overnight and then browned in a pan on stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I really thought this was going to be a great recipe. It was so-so. Sauce was way to thin, even after adding corn starch, and there was hardly any orange flavor. Was better after some red pepper flakes, but I'm still not sure if I will make it again. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
So glad I tried this recipe. I doubled the orange juice and added some cornstarch to thicken gravy when I took out of the oven. Served over white rice. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I think my fiance and I might be the only one's who weren't wowed by this recipe but to us there was something "off" about it. On the chicken, the sauce was pretty good, but when we poured it over our rice and broccoli, it just didn't taste right at all. I think the onion soup mix really overpowered the other flavors in the sauce, even when I added more orange than the recipe called for. My fiance and I both agreed that this was just okay, but probably not something we'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't use the onion soup mix because I was out, and I didn't notice a really orange-y taste, but it was nice. I added some cornstarch to the orange juice and soy sauce to make a gravy and served it over the chicken and garlic mashed potatoes. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I was in need of a good quick recipe for dinner and tried this out. I was skeptical once I added the onion soup mix because the onion smelled like it was overpowering the orange. I cooked the chicken turning it every 30 minutes as the recipe directed. while the recipe was good, it wasn't AWESOME! I don't think I'll be using this recipe again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I had high hopes for this .... but it came out nothing more than just plain orange marmalade and onions on gourmet boneless, skinless chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States