Bev's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I really like the ratios used in this recipe, except for the flour. I use just a touch less and cook this on the stove instead of the microwave. Super creamy and cheesy, yum! I tried this recipe a second time using pepper jack (instead of cheddar) and adding corn, black beans, chopped grilled chicken, jalapenos and cilantro... to die for! Thanks : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
My 12 month old loved this but alas I found it a little too 'floury' in taste. Seemed like I was making a bechamel sauce for lasagne rather than mac and cheese. Next time I will use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
i wish my kids liked this as much as i do! i've always wanted a simple and quick mac & cheese like they serve at our fish fry's. this is IT! i've made this for a quick filler when family drops by and many of them have asked for the recipe. you can experiment with hot sauce or cayenne pepper or even chili powder. or it's just great by itself. great recipe. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missi.spirito

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranesville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was very easy and quick but it didn't taste as good as some others. This is good in a pinch but not a family favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe calls for to much flour. I only put 2tbs of flour in it. I also added some nutmeg for flavor. Next time I'm also going to put worchestire for taste. Great Recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nini
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great recipe! No need to open that mac'n'cheese box anymore. The first time around, I scaled it down to 2 servings but forgot to scale down the microwave time. Made this recipe a few more times and figured that for 2 servings, 1+1 minute,stiring in between, gets the sauce smooth and creamy. My 3 year old helps me make this dish and totally enjoys the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
7:00 pm, no idea what to make for dinner...and we're hungry for something fast & cheesy. This recipe was excellent! I also added garlic and onion powder and another 1/2 cup of cheese. Also, it didn't need another full 5 minutes of micro time, so I only cooked it another 2 min. A small whisk worked perfectly for keeping the mixture creamy. We'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This is an awesome recipe, exactly what I was hoping for. I cooked it stovetop to keep it smooth and added some paprika and parm to the cheese sauce. Really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I used Velveeta for the cheese and followed the rest of the recipe to the T.... but I ended up with mac n cheese soup, so I'm cooking another cup of mac to add to it, should be great then! Thanks you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is great and so easy! Like mom's oven mac & cheese in one-fifth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States