Bev's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My go to recipe is a lower fat modification of the Best Recipe Mac and Cheese (Cook's Illustrated). However, I like the microwave idea for smaller batches of macaroni and cheese. But the recipe calls for way too much flour which I probably should have known. I may try again with less flour. No one finished their portion, no one really even liked it, and all my boys have thus far liked every kind of macaroni and cheese they have been served. Pretty disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I am not a big pasta or cheese eater yet found myself chowing down on this recipe. Came out perfect. I added a 1/4 cup more milk for a creamier texture. Good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a great recipe! Ready in under 15 minutes and I'm sure healthier than a boxed kind. I didn't microwave again for 4-5 minutes because mine was already smooth and steaming hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Delightfully quick and easy! I want to avoid boxed mac-n-cheese because I don't want all the preservatives and artificial flavors (not to mention the inferior taste) for my toddler, but I need quick, and this fits the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This recipe was very simple to make. I followed it exactly, except I made it on the stove. I was a little disappointed. It turned out chalky. I'm not sure if this was from the flour or the shredded cheddar. If I do make this again, I will definately use less flour and maybe velveeta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Toast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I usually follow Alton Brown's Stovetop Mac 'n Cheese recipe but didn't have evaporated milk, so I tried this one instead. It was really good and super easy! I did reduce the flour to 2 TBS (the basic rule for a sauce is 1 unit of thickening agent to 1 unit of fat) and that worked perfectly. I did double the recipe b/c when I measured out the pasta it didn't seem like enough. I ended up with enough pasta but a lot of cheese sauce leftover (about 3/4 cup). To make one recipe's worth, I'd probably use 1-1/4 cups of pasta. It makes a good base cheese sauce and would taste great with any mix of cheeses. Sorry Alton, but I think you've been replaced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was really easy and tasty too. Its always a pain to find good quick side dishes and this fits the bill. I made it exactly as the recipe indicated. A weeknight keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made this mac & cheese tonight for dinner. I won't heat up my kitchen in the summer by using the oven, so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I was very surprised by how tasty it was. I used a little less flour and bought shredded sharp cheese. Very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
After getting off to a really late start with making supper, but still having the "hankerin" for mac and cheese, I was searching online thinking to myself, There has GOT to be a quickie recipe for mac and cheese... and there is! After making mac and cheese this quickly and easily... why would anyone want to make it any other way! I, personally, will never make it any other way again! This was incredible! The only thing I had to do was add a little bit more milk and butter at the end, but this one is definitely a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
this is best cheese ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States