Bev's Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was a great pie, and my first meringue too. I have a stick blender with only one speed, which is kind of high. I found that it did a great job beating the meringue until it was thick and fluffy. I shared this pie with some friends, and we all liked it. Maybe not a 5-star recipe, but definitely at least 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Warlocks O'lady
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
made this two times both times it turned out perfect....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I swear it seems more than not, people have to gripe and complain about everything including pie recipes. I made this for the first time for my mom. It turned out really pretty. I used a whisk to stir the pie filling in the saucepan. It was creamy pouring into the pie shell. Me and my roomate were licking the pot afterwards lol! I will say I added about 7 mins more to cooking the pie.I was still "wobbly" after 40mins. Came out very pretty as well as the merinque. my family has always used my grandma's chocolate pie recipe. But its MIA. I wrote this one down in my recipe book. This will be made LOTS more. Well done! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Nuckols

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I've made this pie several times we really like it. It's very close to what my grandmother used to make. The only change I make is reduce the sugar to 1 and 1/4 cup. It's just enough sweet that way, you don't miss the sugar at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very good recipe, I added a whipped cream topping instead of the mirrangue because I needed the oven for anther dish. The pie was so simple, but soooo good. I made two, one for Christmas Eve and one for Christmas day. This pie wasa big hit at both parties! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This is the easiest pie ever to make and is not runny at all. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This pie was beautiful and easy to make. However, it is cloyingly sweet and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was a delicious pie! First time ever making a chocolate pie and this was a super easy recipe. I didn't put meringue on it so I can only give it four stars! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My family loves this pie. It is as close as we've found to a chocolate pie we used to eat at Ollie's BBQ in Birmingham, AL. I had searched for a recipe for something similar since it closed years ago. So happy to have found this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Best chocolate pie ever. My family loved it. First chocolate pie that I have ever prepared that turned out perfectly.-Vivian Taylor Briggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States