Betz's Good Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
When I tried the recipe, I adjusted for 36 and used two eggs and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and another 1/2 cup flour and 1/4tsp of baking powder. They came out perfect. They weren't too hard, I didn't need to refrigerate them overnight. I think this adjustment is well put. I tried the recipe as is and my cookies just didn't come out the same, they were a little too doughy. But this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe because it made my husband real happy! He couldn't wait so I froze the dough for 10 minutes! Presto!!! And they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Flavor was ok, but when i was finally able to get a cut out, they did NOT resemble anything but a blob after baking. I won' t be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are delicious! Much more flavorful than most cut-outs. I admit, they're very hard to work with (so are most other cut-out batters). I refrigerated the dough for about an hour and then separated it into three sections for easier working, leaving the other section(s) in the fridge while I worked. I used a LOT of flour to work with this. I dropped the dough into a bowl of flour and kneaded it, repeating until it no longer felt sticky. Only then did I roll it out, again using a well-floured surface and flouring the top before cutting. I also floured the cutter after each 4-5 cuts I made, to be sure that it wouldn't stick to the dough. Once I did this, though, the dough was cooperative and even pleasant to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent. My husband's last name is Betz and when I made the cookies for the first time, he said they tasted exactly like the ones his grandmother used to make when he was a kid. No recipe had been past down to him. So he was thrilled that I found it. Easy to make. No problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Fantastic! I was glad I made the dough before reading the reviews, as I may have been turned off. The dough is fine to work with...just treat it like gingerbread dough. Use lots of flour (on the surface, on your hands, on the rolling pin) and use small portions of the dough at a time, keeping the rest in the refrigerator or freezer so it stays firm. I'm not a seasoned baker by any means, but I've made a lot of gingerbreads, so these were fairly easy. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The BEST sugar cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This dough is unrollable!! wayy too soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal608

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I absolutely love these cookies. I added a small change to them, as I love lemon sugar cookies. I simply juiced (by hand) two lemons, and added the juice, and about a tablespoon of the zest from them, and about a teaspoon and a half of baking soda. I love them fresh and refridgerated! :) Thanks so much for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawhuska, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
absolutely lovely! but they taste best when they come out of the oven, after its chilled there is too big of a difference in taste! so be quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy yummy in my tummy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States