Betty's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
This took me all of about 10 minutes to prepare, and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe because I was low on ingredients and the kids wanted cookies. I was really surprised at how good and quick they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
The cookie tastes pretty bad. I think if you replace the shortening with butter it would have been fine, but the shortening taste is pretty awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
The Sugar cookies had a little bit of a salty aftertaste. They were very soft and good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I substituted the shortening with butter and these turned out very well. I also made a batch with 2 teaspoons of anise EXTRACT and that made them VERY tasty (but no longer a straight sugar cookie anymore)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I've been looking for a sugar cookie recipe as well as a shortbread recipe. My daughter made these - by herself- and they came out awesome. She used margerine instead of shortening and in my opinion they tasted like a cross between sugar cookies and shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
These are DELICIOUS cookies!!! I forgot to flatten them a little, but they were little puffs and were still DELICIOUS!!! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I LOVE these cookies. I made a similar recipe years ago, but lost the recipe in a move. When I made them they were called Cookie Monster Cookies and came out of a Sesame Street Cookbook but now all Cookie Monster Cookies are those with M & M's and oatmeal, peanut butter, etc. These cookies remind me of Sugar cookie cakes sort of, thicker than normal cutout cookies usually are and sweet with a tender texture. I didn't roll mine in sugar, but dipped a glass in sugar and used it to flatten. These are great frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
My son and I had a great time making and eating these cookies. I did add a pinch of cinnamon in the recipe and used sugar/cinnamon mixture for the top..very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe was wonderful. The dough was a little oily when being formed into balls, but I added a pinch of four to my hands in order to make them less gooie. There was a small hint of saltyness to the cookies, but I was using a coarser salt, be sure to use the finest ground salt you can find and I'm sure you won't have the same problem. I also used the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar to flatten the cookie before cooking. They turned out PERFECTLY sweet, light & delightful! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States