Betty's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I had to make two minor changes out of necessity: swapped the shortening for butter, and I didn't have brown sugar, so just used white. These were GREAT cookies. Soft, light, great for dipping in milk. I made my own colored red and green sugar from a recipe on this site. Also, 1/2 inch balls sounded awful small to me, so mine were more walnut sized. Turned out great, I will definitely be making these again...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kebrady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockwell, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Even with flatening the cookies they puff up like a biscut, they were soft and gooie first out of the oven but they quickly hardened and not only looked like biscuts but my husband ate it not knowing it was a cookie and said "man this biscut sucks" I didnt have the heart to tell him it was suppose to be a cookie and tossed them out right there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
These cookies are perfect because they are not too sweet but still have a pretty good flavor. Sometimes I add some almond extract and they taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
These were good. Not my favorite sugar cookie recipe but very good. I took them to a potluck and they all disapeared so they must have gone over well! Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
These turned out Great... everyone in my family loved them. I only put 1/2 cup shortening and the rest butter. I added a cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Also, added some cocoa to part of the batch and it also turned out great. Yum.. will use recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike'swife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Easy, tasty and requires only ingredients you always have on hand - and cheap! Good for bake sales since you can afford to make lots. Colored sugar makes them pretty. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
FABULOUS! I did a drop cookie version of this and they came of excellent! They're soft and chewy and DELICIOUS! The only thing I'm going to do is add a 1/4 of a teaspoon of lemon extract because I like a hint of lemon...but I may decide I like the original recipe more! TRY THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superchick1259

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
They really are tastless. All I could think of as I was eating them was how the taste of shortning is gross. I would recommend using butter instead and even adding ginger. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I make these cookies all the time for misc. reasons, and they always go over really well!! You can spice these cookies up for the holidays by adding some nutmeg, cinamon and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
THESE COOKIES ARE GREAT. I LOVE THIS RECIPE BECAUSE IT DOES NOT REQUIRE BUTTER. THE COOKIES CAME OUT VERY SOFT AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States