Betty's Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These were completely fabulous! I made mine fairly large {only had just over two dozen), which made them wonderfully soft in the centres and a lot thicker than those shown in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Not a gingersnap but an excellant chewy molasses cookie, perfect and very similar to my mother's. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I added 1/4 cup more oil & 1/4 cup apple sauce. They turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Chewy on the inside, with a sugary crunch on the outside, these cookies go well with a cup of tea. I followed the recipe exactly, and my husband and son loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These cookies were the greatest! Had searched for a recipe using oil & found these to be delicious & each one turned out perfect in appearance. Did make two changes after the first batch. Found that it worked better to chill the dough for a little while & to bake the cookies at 350 degrees instead of 375. Also, I made sure that I didn't overbake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe did not work out for me. The cookies were flat and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Isn't this a misnomer, calling these cookies ginger"snaps" if they are soft in the middle? I made these with freshly milled whole grain soft winter wheat flour. They are good, but I'm not raving about them. I added 1 extra teaspoon of ginger hoping for a more gingering flavour but the molasses and sugar overpowered any other flavours. I'm still looking for a really good ginger cookie recipe; I'm afraid this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This is the best Gingersnap recipe I have ever made! They are moist and tender. I am always getting asked for this recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very, very good. Crunchy on the edges but soft and chewy in the center. The sugar sprinkle on the finished cookie is a nice touch but they're plenty sweet enough without rolling them in the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I served these at brunch the morning after Thanksgiving. They made a huge hit. I was even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States