Betty's Famous Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This nog will knock you on your butt! It's almost like a liquor milkshake. I had a hard time finding a bowl big enough to accomodate this large yield, I will reduce the recipe next time and likely 1/2 the liquor as well. Easy to make, thick creamy texture. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W. Stalter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oneonta, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
WOW! Finally found my lost Mississippi Eggnog recipe, here it is..Thanks. The only difference is instead of granulated sugar it uses powdered sugar so it mixes much easier..Once you try this recipe you will never use another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Kelley Harris
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
this is the best eggnog receipe ever!! i had never made it before and it tastes awesome! i brought in a little for my coworkers to sample and they all put in orders for me to make some for them before Christmas! So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
FYI, the yield of this recipe is about 1.5 gallons of nog. Serving size: 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've always made Eggnog for Thanksgiving and Christmas and it's been an annual hit. But, I never recorded the recipe and, over the years, drifted too far away from the base recipe to where it became average. So, this year I searched for a recipe that would bring me back and THIS IS IT! Betty's Eggnog is as good, if not better, than mine ever was. Absolutely fantastic!...if you think liquor is what defines a good Eggnog...which I do. I used her recipe, but was a little more selective with the liquor: 1 bottle of American Honey, 1/2 bottle of Meyers dark rum, and VSOP brandy. I also added an extra pint of heavy cream and a quart of half and half. PERFECT! Thank you Betty for bringing me back home to the perfect eggnog! Good for breakfast, lunch, dinner and all thirsty periods in between...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've made this three times now, and each time it's been a big hit with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I loved this it was flavorful with a put you on your butt kick. It was so good I'm now expected to make it every year for the Christmas party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Holy cow! This is SO good!I just finished making it and it is chilling now, but I had to sample. I wasn't sure what to do about folding in the eggwhites. They didn't really fully incorporate into the mixture, so I left it to chill with marble size bits of eggwhite still floating on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great traditional eggnog recipe. My mother used to make it every Christmas and I was searching for a recipe that used bourbon, rum and brandy like she did. This is the eggnog I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States