Betty's Best Hot Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I had a recipe like this which I used for years as did my church ladies group, but we added 1 can of cream of chicken soup to the mix, believe me it makes all the difference in the world! I tried this out of curiosity, and it was greasy, bland, underdone, and not really as good as my old recipe. I also topped mine with a combination of Ritz crackers and cheddar cheese (do NOT use low cal mayo or cheese in this - it doesn't work).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
This just didn't work for me. I used canned chicken, which may have had something to do with it (the chicken flavor was too prominent). It tasted like warm chicken with mayo and that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I've had this recipe in my recipe box for months, meaning to try it out. I made it tonight, and it's a winner! My mom made a dish similar to this, which is what prompted me to try it. The cashews were fun. I used half light mayo, and it turned out perfect. Still creamy. I used about 1/3 of a red onion, chopped fine. This, along with the celery added beautiful color. I didn't have problems with it being too greasy, and I even added the chips (about 1/2 cup). It's common sense that it will be a rich dish though. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Great casserole! We omit the potato chips (not neccessary!), which really cuts down on the greasy-ness factor. And if it still seems like it might be too rich, use low-fat mayo! My family LOVES this salad! (and no, it's not a "Sandwich" chicken salad, but would be great with a good green salad on the side and a nice crusty piece of bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annalise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I made this recipe last night for my family of five after I went to the store to get everything I needed. They all hated it. There's so much mayo it's discusting. I was very disappointed - not to mention, still hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Interesting recipe...it had good flavor and crunch but was very greasy. Is this a sandwich salad recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This recipe is way too rich as is-- tons of mayonnaise, salty cashews and chips, cheddar cheese. It almost made me sick an hour after I ate it. Although the meal is flavorful if you like chicken salad, I would reduce the amount of mayonnaise by A LOT before making this again! The other liquid ingredients (including the melted cheese) will make up for the lost mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Wow! Both husband and grown daughter gave this an A+. In fact, my husband gave a 10 out of 5. :-) It was delightful! Will definately make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I would recommend this recipe to everyone! I didn't know if I would like it because of all the mayo and the chips. But oh my it was absolutely awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I have been making this for years but topped with shaved almonds. Great for cassserole to take to new moms etc, they can bake when needed, even freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States