Betty Baker's Strawberry Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a terrific recipe i love the sweetness from the strawberry's and the lime gives it a hint of sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Derby, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was an interesting experience. I've never had strawberry salsa so I was not sure what to expect. Or what to do with it really. So I served it with cinnamon pita chips and crackers. There is a lot going on here flavor wise. I liked it with the cinnamon chips the best. The cilantro and mint seemed to be battling each other for first place in the flavor. I really liked the strawberries and the vinegar. I think if I make it again I will probably cut the cilantro down to 1 T. My kids all really enjoyed it as a snack. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Well, this certainly was different for me. I have never made a sweet salsa but I found I liked this one with certain things. This one we served with dipping crackers and chips plus I served it with some BBQ'ed pork chops and chicken and everyone really liked it. When I plated the pork chops, I just made a trail of salsa across the chops and on to the plate and it made a very attractive presentation. I did the same way with the chicken and I also had some salsa in a dish for those who wanted more or some with dippers. Like usual, I made two batches. One exactly as written and the second one I changed slightly to accomadate personal tastes. I added less hot pepper, half the vinegar, and less mint. I can't do hot peppers so I didn't try the hot one but the ones who did said it was great. They would have never thought of mixing hot peppers with strawberries but they said it sure works. As for the toned down version, I though it was very good. It reminded me of summer and back yard BBQ's and picnics. Yes, I will prepare the Strawberry Salsa again. My family has ordered it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Sorry, but this recipe wasn't a hit in my household. Everyone liked the strawberry, tomato, green onion combo, but it ended there. Would try again but wouldn't use the cilantro or mint. I found a recipe that was fairly similar, using balsamic vinegar, liquid honey, pepper, and basil. Will try this again using these ingredients, because I think it would be quite nice with a grilled chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This isn't one of my favourites, there was to many flavours happening. I found the cilantro to be overwhelming. We had this on cinnamon pita chips,however I think it would be better on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This turned out really good, although it was a little bland for my taste. It wasn't sweet at all - I was expecting it to taste a lot sweeter and a lot like the creamy fruit dips. My friends loved it though - and they couldn't get enough!I will definitely make it again, but I might play with it next time, to see if I can add some more flavor to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Right after making this, my son wanted to add honey. After sitting overnight, the flavors melded so that a sweetener was not needed. Colorful and palette pleasing! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
A friend served this with Blue Corn Chips and it was wonderful. She said she left out the mint all together and used only about half of the peppers. It was really yummy. Went very well with the wine that she served ... a very pleasant way to enjoy a summer eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Wow! This was really good. I did use a bit less of the jalapeno peppers (personal taste) but it was still really great. Good to make for a crowd to use as an appetizer. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I loved this salsa, so fun, different, refreshing! My husband thought it was weird...strawberries?? He is such a traditionalist, ha-ha... So, hooray, more for me. I followed the directions exactly except for the mint, which I left out because I simply don't like it. Oh, and I used canned jalapenos because I don't like handling raw hot peppers... haven't learned how without crying, ha-ha... Because mine were canned, I doubled the amount, otherwise I could barely taste them. This was all even better the next day. Thanks you Betty for such a fantastic recipe and idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States