Better than Sex Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Well...These were a good cookie. However, I had to make 2 batches. The 1st batch followed it to a T and my cookies were slightly flat and needed a little something, but couldn't put my finger on it. Went back and looked at some other reviews and made the 2nd batch. I took the white sugar decreased it to 1 1/2 cups and added 1/2 brown sugar. I increased the vanilla extract to 1 1/2 tsp, increased the flour to 3 cups and used 12 oz white chips(works out to 1 3/4 cup--one bag) and 6 oz Macadamia baking pieces dry roasted. I didn't see the need to measure out 4 oz---I like nuts so I used the whole bag. With these adjustments, I got a nice flavorful cookie as I think was intended, and still slightly soft in the middle...I have a gas oven so 8 1/2 to 9 minutes was just perfect. Even though the first batch was decent, the 2nd batch was excellent..I couldn't rate this a bad recipe at all just some minor help. Will make this again with the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
My family really enjoyed these cookies. I was a little disappointed only because they flatten out so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is the tastiest basic cookie recipe I have found. You can add a variety of ingredients to this to make different cookies for ex. choc. chips, nuts, dried fruits, or just sprinkle with colored sugar. You can follow this recipe exactly as it is, no improvements necessary. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frenchtown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
very very good cookie....so what if they flatten out, just make your little cookie ball taller instead of flatter before you stick them in the oven...not hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Cookies are good...not as good as sex but good. If you chill dough before cooking they don't become as thin as if you don't. Also they need to be cooked for 10 minutes not 9 minutes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
These are basically sugar cookies with white chocolate and nuts. I will stick to my original white chocolate macadamia nut cookies. Need to add brown sugar to these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Easy, simple, and with ingredients I can keep on hand at all times. I will make this again, but I tweaked the first batch a bit. I ran out of vanilla extract so I used almond instead and I only had 2 oz of nuts. So the next time I make this, I will do it the right way!! When pulling the cookies out of the oven, it's important to let them cool for about a min or so because they are so gooey in the center. But when they cool, they firm up and are sooo yummy and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceybug8806

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Ogdensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Easy cookie to make, liked the consistency although I felt like they were missing a little something. The taste was just a little on the bland side. The look and presentation was good, I did not find they were too flat like other reviewers had mentioned. I also froze individual dough balls to use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I used the same exact ingredients as Mike submitted, though baked them as a Bar Cookie and they " Scored" .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These cookies were great. They definitely reminded me of a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie, but were slightly different. Be sure to not bake over the time they specify b/c they bottoms will burn. Try and sneak a few while they are hot, they are SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States