Better than Sex Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is our favorite version of this recipe, my ten year old son requests this for his birthday every year over a store bought cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Yum-freakin'-eeee! Best on the site! Use a wooden spoon handle to poke holes though, as a fork doesn't allow a big enough hole for the sauce to drain into. You won't be sorry if you try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Great starter recipe, gave it four stars cause with a couple tweaks it becomes amazing. When baking the cake, replace the water called for on the box with coconut milk. ( I like to use the regular yellow betty crocker cake mix) Also, use coconut milk to make the pudding. YUMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I did follow suggestions from other reviewers, using coconut cream pie pudding and pineapple flavored cake. On the pineapple syrup, I added a bit of cornstarch because I don't like my cake soggy. It tastes much better if you refrigerate it for 24 hours. This recipe is a keeper!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiwitina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this for a New Years party we attended this year and everyone raved about it! I did however make a few changes. - I used lemon cake mix instead - I used cool whip instead of icing (I was pressed for time) - I didn't add the coconut I've already made this twice, and plan to make it again! Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The name is certainly fake advertisement (or at least for some people sake, I hope so…). 1st of all, I would not suggest this cake for the winter time, I made it yesterday by the recipe and it was not what I was expecting. It was too cold to eat on such a cold day! The best thing about this was simply the box cake. The pudding was too much and the whipping cream mixture was so runny and simply sunk to the bottom. I appreciate the recipe, but I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I customized the recipe by using pineapple juice instead of water, layering the cake first with pineapples, then vanilla pudding, then bananas, then strawberries(frozen/sweetened), then strawberry or regular whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
LOVED IT! AWESOME! I NIXED THE COCONUT THOUGH AS THE BF DOESNT CARE FOR IT. IT WAS MOIST AND HAD A MILLION FLAVORS HIT ME AT ONCE! LIKE A CAKE ON STEROIDS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I prefer the chocolate better than sex cake but this is still really good. My only advice is to not use the pineapple cake mix like others suggested, cause it is wayyy too much pineapple flavor. It overwhelms the rest of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States