Better than Grandma's Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
These were fair but too sweet for me.If I made these again,which I doubt I will,I'd cut the sugar in half.Also like other reviewers,it took roughly 40 to 45 minutes to bake,then the edges were over-baked.I don't know why it says to beat the egg mixture so long,I'd cut that time down to a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I have made this before, and I lost it. I made this one all the time growing up. and for me it is the only one. Thank you for finding this for me. It was the squares that dose the trick.mmmm!! I can smell them now.again thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Occasionally I have been searching for the brownie recipe that was the one my mother used and taught me. Unfortunately when she passed away, the recipe was thrown out by mistake. I did remember that it was more than the "one bowl" recipe and everything about this one sounded right,so I tried it. This was it or close enough. They are just as I remembered...fantastic! Thank you Julie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These are by far the BEST brownie on here!! I can not see why anyone would alter this recipe, other than thinking they can improve something already wonderful! These are simular to a recipe I had a few years back and I lost that recipe in our house fire! I think this is better than the one I use to use If you want a croud pleaser and a mighty tastey brownie these are the ones to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
AMAZING!!! BEST BROWNIES EVER!!!!!!! MY WHOLE FAMILY LOVES THESE!!! THIS IS MY NEW BROWNIE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emluvstobake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Sorry.... but after following the recipe to a 'T', I found the batter to be extremely thick, and during baking, the 17 -20 minutes was no where enough time. After 25 minutes the sides pulled away from the pan but the majority of the center was still unbaked batter. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Hands down the best brownie recipe I have ever made. My husband and Dad love these! Not too fugdy not to cake-like. Wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. Although sometimes I like to add peanut butter chips or chocolate chips to switch it up a bit sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
FOUND THIS TO BE AN AMAZING BROWNIE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe!! I Added two bars of chopped fruit and nut Toblerone candy bar and decreased the sugar to only 1 cup. It makes the brownies so much more rich, chewy and absolutely heavenly. Don't forget to decrease the sugar or it becomes too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Loved these brownies. Chewie, rich and not cake like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States