Better Than...Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This cake is very moist, rich and sweet. Kids loved the chocolate chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is the moistest cake I've ever had! After reading the reviews here, I added the chocolate chips to the top of the cake before putting it in the over so they wouldn't sink to the bottom, so the top of my cake was chocolately brown which was fine with me! I made a cream cheese frosting to top it with and that made it even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
So rich and yummy. I have had many compliments on this cake and it's so easy to make! I used Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this cake with chocolate everything and it was a great chocolate fix. Could used to set a day before frosting although I don't think it needs it. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I have made this cake several times now and each time I am flooded with requests for the recipe. I make it in a HUGE 11X11 square pan, freeze it overnight then cut it into two layers. I fill it with a fudge filling and use the cream cheese frosting. It is absolutely delicious, a tradition now for our family on special occasions. I also made it for a baby shower and the nice white cream cheese frosting made a beautiful backdrop for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
Yum, yum, and yum! I am a chocoholic but my husband likes things without chocolate, from time to time. This satisfied us both. There was enough chocolate for me to get my "fix" and little enough chocolate for him to enjoy. Incidentally, I did sprinkle chocolate chips over the icing...I couldn't resist. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
tried it for the first time very moist and delicous cake...I am fixing again for a potluck at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This cake was super-easy, and very very good. Based on other people's suggestions, I mixed in most of the chocolate chips into the batter, then sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup or so on top of the mixtures in the pan, and it turned out great: the cake looked very inviting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
Yummy, easy and fast. Eat it with a glass of milk and even without the frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMiaItalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
WoW! For YEARS I had forgotten about this cake, and it's my own. My mom started making this when I was young(a LONG time ago) This is a cake for everything, OR if you just want to treat yourself. I'm glad everyone that has tried it likes it. I'm a feeder (love to feed people), I inherited it from my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Church Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States