Better Than...Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
a tip about this cake-It tastes MUCH better the day after it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This cake was super-easy, and very very good. Based on other people's suggestions, I mixed in most of the chocolate chips into the batter, then sprinkled the remaining 1/2 cup or so on top of the mixtures in the pan, and it turned out great: the cake looked very inviting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I have made this cake several times now and each time I am flooded with requests for the recipe. I make it in a HUGE 11X11 square pan, freeze it overnight then cut it into two layers. I fill it with a fudge filling and use the cream cheese frosting. It is absolutely delicious, a tradition now for our family on special occasions. I also made it for a baby shower and the nice white cream cheese frosting made a beautiful backdrop for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The cake tasted good & I think I would make it again without chocolate chips. They dominated the cake, but overall, this is a good recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Uh, I'm not sure about this recipe.... Made 12 jumbo chocolate (Betty Crocker chocolate fudge) frosted cupcakes last night. I've been eyeing this recipe for a while and am glad I finally got around to trying it, but I do wish the end product tuned out differently. Don't get me wrong... these were good, just not GREAT. For one, there are WAAAY, WAAAY too many chocolate chips in the batter. Every bite (I HAD to try one before sending my bf to work with the rest!) was overwhelmingly chocolaty - and that's not a good thing in this instance, IMHO. I also must agree with fellow reviewer Trcia Jaeger. The "extra" ingredients are a waste if for none other than contributing to the cake's incredibly moist texture (which is a plus). All in all, this is a nice, basic butter cake recipe, but I do believe it is IMPERATIVE to decrease the amount of chocolate chips by at least a cup!!! Thanks for sharing your idea Bobbie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Very moist, rich, & easy! I made these into cupcakes (for convience). They were well liked around here. Thanks Bobbie Kaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I found this recipe to have a little too much of an egg bread texture to it rather than a cake like characteristic. For the added calories I would rather just stick to a box of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this cake with chocolate everything and it was a great chocolate fix. Could used to set a day before frosting although I don't think it needs it. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Well, after I frosted this it just tasted like a box mix cake with frosting. It was good but I don't think it was really worth the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This cake is so moist. You can also use butter cream frosting. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States