Better Than...Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
This cake is very moist, rich and sweet. Kids loved the chocolate chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
Yum, yum, and yum! I am a chocoholic but my husband likes things without chocolate, from time to time. This satisfied us both. There was enough chocolate for me to get my "fix" and little enough chocolate for him to enjoy. Incidentally, I did sprinkle chocolate chips over the icing...I couldn't resist. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
The taste of this cake was wonderful - very rich. Two complaints: all of the chocolate chips sank to the bottom of the cake. Would have preferred chocolate chips in the cake itself. Also, I made four of these cakes and all four of them sank in the middle...my fault maybe? But, definitely great tasting! Since the cake was so rich, would suggest a less sweet frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I have made this cake several times now and each time I am flooded with requests for the recipe. I make it in a HUGE 11X11 square pan, freeze it overnight then cut it into two layers. I fill it with a fudge filling and use the cream cheese frosting. It is absolutely delicious, a tradition now for our family on special occasions. I also made it for a baby shower and the nice white cream cheese frosting made a beautiful backdrop for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Very moist, rich, & easy! I made these into cupcakes (for convience). They were well liked around here. Thanks Bobbie Kaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
a tip about this cake-It tastes MUCH better the day after it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made this cake with chocolate everything and it was a great chocolate fix. Could used to set a day before frosting although I don't think it needs it. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
tried it for the first time very moist and delicous cake...I am fixing again for a potluck at work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
So rich and yummy. I have had many compliments on this cake and it's so easy to make! I used Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is the moistest cake I've ever had! After reading the reviews here, I added the chocolate chips to the top of the cake before putting it in the over so they wouldn't sink to the bottom, so the top of my cake was chocolately brown which was fine with me! I made a cream cheese frosting to top it with and that made it even better. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States