Better Than...Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
My daughter found this recipe and everybody loves it. I made it using suggestions she found in reviews to use mini chocolate chips, put 1/2 in the batter and sprinkle other 1/2 over top of batter. When baked and cooled spread chocolate icing (not whipped) over the top. This is Better than ....Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Moistest cake you'll ever eat. For those who say the chocolate chips dominate it, try this: instead of 2 cups of standard chips, I use 1.5 cups of MINI chocolate chips. For me this works much better. I save a little bit of the dry cake mix and toss them in it before adding to the batter to keep them from sinking to the bottom. ALSO, I use a standard vanilla glaze (powdered sugar, vanilla, milk) Its not has heavy as standard frosting and is a nice contrast to the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
The cake tasted good & I think I would make it again without chocolate chips. They dominated the cake, but overall, this is a good recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This cake is moist AND stays moist for over a week. I used caramel frosting and everyone loves it! I've made it as cupcakes, a sheet cake and 2 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenyetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Uh, I'm not sure about this recipe.... Made 12 jumbo chocolate (Betty Crocker chocolate fudge) frosted cupcakes last night. I've been eyeing this recipe for a while and am glad I finally got around to trying it, but I do wish the end product tuned out differently. Don't get me wrong... these were good, just not GREAT. For one, there are WAAAY, WAAAY too many chocolate chips in the batter. Every bite (I HAD to try one before sending my bf to work with the rest!) was overwhelmingly chocolaty - and that's not a good thing in this instance, IMHO. I also must agree with fellow reviewer Trcia Jaeger. The "extra" ingredients are a waste if for none other than contributing to the cake's incredibly moist texture (which is a plus). All in all, this is a nice, basic butter cake recipe, but I do believe it is IMPERATIVE to decrease the amount of chocolate chips by at least a cup!!! Thanks for sharing your idea Bobbie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
mmmm mmmm good! Yes lawd! ** I used only 1 cup white chocolate chips**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I wasn't that impressed with this cake. It tasted just like a regular cake mix with chocolate chips in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Well, after I frosted this it just tasted like a box mix cake with frosting. It was good but I don't think it was really worth the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I found this recipe to have a little too much of an egg bread texture to it rather than a cake like characteristic. For the added calories I would rather just stick to a box of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This cake is delicious. I made it for family and friends and received several compliments. I wish I had leftovers so I could see if it was better the next day as others stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cumberland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States