Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Simple and fabulous. This is always a hit and has become my "signature dessert" that is requested by friends whenever we have dinner parties. I have done some modifications at times pending my mood and added dizzled hot fudge mixed with the caramel both on the cake and as a topping. I have also substituted the toffee for frozen snickers. Yummm! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Yep! This cake is always a crowd pleaser. Very rich. Try not to go back for thirds. It won't be easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
YUMMY! I make other cakes that require adding some kind of filling inside the cake. To make it easier, I bought a plastic container, similar to a ketchup squeeze bottle. I cut the top down to make the opening larger. I filled my bottle with the milk and caramel mixture, took my time and easily filled the holes in the warm cake. I saved some of the milk-caramel mixture to spread on the top to make the candy stick to the cake. You can find toffee pieces in the stores making it easier than smashing up candy bars. I poked holes in the warm cake with a wooden spoon handle and followed a review saying to use the whole can of milk and whole jar of caramel and it was just too wet for me. The second time I watched the video, and used the correct amounts and it was delicious! I frosted with Cool Whipped Frosting. It's sturdier than plain Cool Whip and holds up well when sitting out for a bit, unlike whipped cream. I think I need to save this cake for very special celebrations because it's not exactly lo-cal. Thank you Angelady, I will keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love this recipe for an easy dessert to bring for gatherings or family events. I found the caramel/condensed milk didn't distribute well with the holes from a wooden spoon as others suggested, so for better distribution, I scored the top diagonally from the corners. It's also easier to get it to sink in if you have another person use the bottom of a spoon to direct it into the scores after pouring. I also speed up cooling by putting it in the freezer for 20-30 min. before topping it. It's still really easy and tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
A W E S O M E!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
One of our favorite cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I've never had or made this cake before - it was delicious but very sweet. I used real whipping cream instead of coolwhip on it which has no sweet to it at all and it was still very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A girlfriend of mine has made this before and made some variations, so when I decided to make it, I too made a few variations and thought it came out just as good as the recipe sounds. I omitted the condensed milk, only because it would make it too soggy and too sweet for my taste. I used instead just the caramel topping. I "poked" holes in the cake immediately after it was baked using a toothpick; kept the caramel at room temperature and poured it over the cake while it cooled down. I also added a nut topping of peanuts and pecans on top of the caramel sauce, and then added the whip cream and toffee topping. Refrigerated it overnight, and enjoyed it the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Goodness gracious! This was a hit at our Christmas dinner yesterday. My granddaughters groaned and moaned with pleasure while eating it - probably to make my day! Everyone wants the recipe. For the toffee part, I used 16 pieces of smashed up Almond Toffee candy that comes in a jar at Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is one of my favorite cakes to make. I do not think there is any other chocolate cake out there that I like more. It is so simple, and tasty and leaves everyone wanting more. I make this every year for the family party and then for when we have company coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memoriesinprint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States