Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by rsondesky1202
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Amazing!!! I have very picky eaters in my family and tonight the whole family gathered it was so good I feel like I should have made an extra cake because it was gone within 20 minutes and everyone was asking for more. I did however change a few things from the original recipe. I am not a huge fan of devils food cake so I changed it to tripe chocolate and it was perfect. Also I followed other people's suggestions and cut each cake with little slits ( not all the way to the bottom) and poured the caramel and condensed milk over the cake time it came out of the oven to be honest I was a little nervous bc it didn't seem like it would absorb an not leave the top of the cake soggy but I had nothing to worry about it was perfect. I made this cake into a two layer cake I covered each section in crushed Heath bars and the pecans you find in the ice cream topping and also chopped them finely and covered all with whipped cream then both layers with a decorative layer of chocolate and Caramel. Only pointer I can give you is if u do a double layer cake it remove your cake from the pans and put on cooling rack then put your slits in it and pour over. I did not think to do this and I had a very hard time getting them out of the pan without breaking them. Once they were out I had no problems with stacking them or serving the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I love this recipe. I also poke holes instead of slits. The holes I think works a lot better. I refrigerate at least an hr b4 serving seems to form the cool whip better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I learned this recipe from my grandmother. Instead of devil's food cake, I use German chocolate cake. I used the end of a wooden spoon to poke holes (hitting the bottom a couple time). I mix the condensed milk and Carmel together in a bowl at room temperature and pour in holes and all over the cake. I cut up Snickers bars instead of chocolate covered toffee. This cake is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
My boyfriend LOVES this cake! I am a health food nut so I lightened it up by using KEY FOOD brand Devil's food cake Mix which requires no oil- just water and egg- you can use egg beater's substitute as well. I also swapped out and used Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk, Smucker's Caramel sundae topping which has NO fat and Fat free Cool Whip. For convenience I used Heath Toffee bits (baking isle) instead of crushing the candy bars. Simple substitutes making a little less guiltless without losing the decadence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
love love love this but i make it low cal..nobody knows..its a weight watchers dessert..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Proman-curtin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I love this cake, I like it best with Skor candy bars! One of my favorite cakes! Did not change a thing on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
The cake turned out awesome. Made it for a dinner party & everyone loved it. Instead of cutting slits in cake, I made holes with the end of a wooden spoon & poured Carmel milk sauce into them. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was very good! I made chocolate cake from scratch and added the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and 12 oz of caramel like other reviews suggested. I didn't heat up the sw.cond.milk and caramel. I just made lots of holes in the top of the cake with a fork and poured the caramel sauce over it and then poured the sw.cond.milk over it while the cake was just out of the oven. I also made the whipped cream from scratch which was 16 oz. whipping cream whipped to soft peaks and then adding 6 tbs. powdered sugar and 2 tsp. vanilla and whipping in until it was the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
So easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This cake is Amazing!!! So simple and yet oh soooooo Delicious! I did make my own caramel Topping from this site Yummyyy!! I will defiently make this cake again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States