Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
One of our favorite cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I've never had or made this cake before - it was delicious but very sweet. I used real whipping cream instead of coolwhip on it which has no sweet to it at all and it was still very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
A girlfriend of mine has made this before and made some variations, so when I decided to make it, I too made a few variations and thought it came out just as good as the recipe sounds. I omitted the condensed milk, only because it would make it too soggy and too sweet for my taste. I used instead just the caramel topping. I "poked" holes in the cake immediately after it was baked using a toothpick; kept the caramel at room temperature and poured it over the cake while it cooled down. I also added a nut topping of peanuts and pecans on top of the caramel sauce, and then added the whip cream and toffee topping. Refrigerated it overnight, and enjoyed it the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Goodness gracious! This was a hit at our Christmas dinner yesterday. My granddaughters groaned and moaned with pleasure while eating it - probably to make my day! Everyone wants the recipe. For the toffee part, I used 16 pieces of smashed up Almond Toffee candy that comes in a jar at Costco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is one of my favorite cakes to make. I do not think there is any other chocolate cake out there that I like more. It is so simple, and tasty and leaves everyone wanting more. I make this every year for the family party and then for when we have company coming over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memoriesinprint

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious. I altered it slightly (cut up cake, layered the different ingredients, as well as just added condensed milk and caramel as is without heating them together). Brought it for a birthday at work, and a few people said it earned the name. At home we ate the leftovers directly from a serving spoon. It barely lasted the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Brett Dussault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was ok, nothing special .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I do what the most helpful reviewer does: Right when I pull the cake out of the oven, I take the handle of a wooden spoon and poke holes all over the cake (it doesn't matter if you hit the bottom of the pan or not). I then poor the caramel directly into the holes and then do the same with a full can of sweetened condensed milk. Once the cake cools, I top it with the Cool Whip and then top that with the toffee bars crunched up (Heath & Skor bars seem to work very well). I also make this cake 2 days in advance so it will be more moist and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this for my husband when we were dating and he proposed the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this cake last night after dinner, then, after reading several reviews stating how much better the cake is the day after it is made, I held off on serving it until today. My bf and I were excited to try it. I followed the recipe, and believe it turned out the way it was supposed to, but the cake to us is just kind of missing something?? Oh how I really wanted to love it! It is so simple to make! I found similar recipes that call for a german choc. cake mix instead of the devils food so Im not going to give up! The next time I am in the mood to bake it, I think I may try that. Also. I used Ms. Richard(sons?) Butterscotch Caramel syrup because we already had a jar of it, and several reviewers suggested it. I may try just a plain caramel syrup next time. I love trying new recipes so I don't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States