Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This was very good! I made chocolate cake from scratch and added the whole can of sweetened condensed milk and 12 oz of caramel like other reviews suggested. I didn't heat up the sw.cond.milk and caramel. I just made lots of holes in the top of the cake with a fork and poured the caramel sauce over it and then poured the sw.cond.milk over it while the cake was just out of the oven. I also made the whipped cream from scratch which was 16 oz. whipping cream whipped to soft peaks and then adding 6 tbs. powdered sugar and 2 tsp. vanilla and whipping in until it was the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
So easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This cake is Amazing!!! So simple and yet oh soooooo Delicious! I did make my own caramel Topping from this site Yummyyy!! I will defiently make this cake again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Too sweet? Yes. Read the reviews, definitely better on day two. Use cool whip and not real whipped cream. What did I do differently that helps? Made devils food cake in TWO pans for layers. Also made a small batch of cheese cake, halved the amount of sugar in the cheese cake in a third 9" pan. If you grease well, the cheesecake just pops out. Then "glued" the chilled cheesecake to the devils food cake layers on top and bottom with the caramel mixture. AWESOME! The cheesecake actually helps "un-sweeten" the cake a bit, and adds an extra creamy layer. Without this, it was definitely very sweet, and considering that I am not much of a cake person, this helped amp up the overall product. Used heath crumbles as well. Also used Duncan Hines with an extra egg in the mix to make the cake a little denser to hold together better with the three layers. Gave four stars only because it just needed a little help and wasn't perfect without changes. One review suggested to poke holes in the cake with a wooden spoon for the caramel which actually sounds like a great idea as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I didn't change anything on it, it was very good and my family and friends enjoyed it a lot. However, I like the better than sex cake I with the hot fudge topping better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Once a month I try out new dessert recipes on my co-workers, and this one was a huge hit! Everyone loved it and most went back for seconds. I did use more than half a can of condensed milk and more caramel topping. I also used a whole bag of mini heath bars that I chopped up. Next when I make this, I may had mini chocolate chips to the cake batter to make it taste more chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe was awesome and super simple. The only things I did differently was poke holes in the cake right when it got out of the oven and I poured the caramel and condensed milk right onto the cake without mixing them together on the stove (why create more dirty dishes?). Took it to a family reunion, it was the only dessert touched. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is one of the Best cakes i have eaten! My husband loves it. I did make a few changes. I mixed the milk, caramel and hot fudge together and then poured it over the cake. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good but to us it tasted a bit processed. Perhaps it was the boxed cake and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States