Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this cake last night after dinner, then, after reading several reviews stating how much better the cake is the day after it is made, I held off on serving it until today. My bf and I were excited to try it. I followed the recipe, and believe it turned out the way it was supposed to, but the cake to us is just kind of missing something?? Oh how I really wanted to love it! It is so simple to make! I found similar recipes that call for a german choc. cake mix instead of the devils food so Im not going to give up! The next time I am in the mood to bake it, I think I may try that. Also. I used Ms. Richard(sons?) Butterscotch Caramel syrup because we already had a jar of it, and several reviewers suggested it. I may try just a plain caramel syrup next time. I love trying new recipes so I don't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I've been using this recipe for over five years now. It's become my signature cake! A few secrets: Works amazingly well with Duncan Hines' version of Devil's Food Cake. I make this a double layer cake, and only poke holes halfway through each layer. I only use about half the amount of the caramel/condensed milk mixture for the full cake (so a quarter of it per layer). I also add some crushed toffee in between the layers, before I frost it. I drip chocolate sauce across the top instead of caramel, and of course add more crushed toffee bar bits on top as well, and a few strawberries! Seriously, best. cake. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This came out really good. I made it for ladies night at my house. The girls loved. Then my husband came home and he loved it too! I took the advice of another user and added chocolate morsels to the cake batter. Also, I used some of the cake batter to make 12 cupcakes. I omitted the milk because I was concerned about it being too soggy (I'm really picky with textures) and instead I used the handle of my wooden spoon to puncture deep holes through the cake and in the center of each cupcake. Then I filled each hole with caramel syrup, yum! Then I spread the whip cream on top. Topped with the crushed candy and even more chocolate morsels and then drizzled with both caramel and chocolate syrup! Excellent recipe with or without my alterations! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I haven't made this cake in years. My son asked about this it and I didn't have a recipe so I used this one. It was really good but I think next time I will take the advice of other reviewers. I will use the whole can of sweetened condensed milk & a whole jar of caramel sauce. It is yummy and I would recommend this delicous cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Valentine Spratt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is the recipe I have loved for years - just as "naples34102", I use the whole can of condensed milk & the entire jar of Ms. Richardson's butterscotch caramel topping. Regardless of minute changes, it is hard to mess this up. My favorite dessert, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christie in mt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Love this cake! But I am a baking snob... :-) I made my own cake. I actually used a chocolate cake recipe and it turned out fabulous. I poked holes with the wooden spoon and poured the milk in first and then the caramel. In the oven as I write this is the same cake but made into cupcake forms. Going to test how this works with cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used dark chocolate cake instead of devil's food. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This cake is so good. I made a chocolate cake from scratch and then used this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very good! I will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I am the kind of person who enjoys the frosting more than the cake itself. This type of cake is perfect because the caramel mixture permeates the entire cake, making it hard to taste that "cake-mix" flavor! I used a chopstick to poke large holes, which I felt helped the cake better absorb the caramel mixture. I saw that some people complained the cake was too soggy/fell apart - I used Duncan Hines mix, which has no pudding in it and therefore is less prone to sogginess. I was also careful not to poke the holes completely through the cake. I had no trouble with cutting and serving this cake. It was devoured by a small group and I had multiple requests for the recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States