Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I used dark chocolate cake instead of devil's food. Was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This cake is so good. I made a chocolate cake from scratch and then used this recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Very good! I will definetly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I am the kind of person who enjoys the frosting more than the cake itself. This type of cake is perfect because the caramel mixture permeates the entire cake, making it hard to taste that "cake-mix" flavor! I used a chopstick to poke large holes, which I felt helped the cake better absorb the caramel mixture. I saw that some people complained the cake was too soggy/fell apart - I used Duncan Hines mix, which has no pudding in it and therefore is less prone to sogginess. I was also careful not to poke the holes completely through the cake. I had no trouble with cutting and serving this cake. It was devoured by a small group and I had multiple requests for the recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I poked holes with a fork as soon as it came out of the oven and added the caramel sauce and condensed milk right away then refrigerated added the whipped cream and used butter fingers and more caramel on top. It was so good. My husband told me it was the best cake he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Crowd hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonenberger0512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
i made this for my step-dad for Father's Day. and he LOVED it, couldn't stay out of it. mmmm..this cake was SO good. it SHOULD be pre-made AT LEAST 2 days before serving it, so it has longer ingredient soak-time. Believe me, i tried it the first day, as well as the third day. OMG it was SOOOO much better the third day, such a difference.. the only did two things differently, i didn't mix the caramel and the condensed milk together, i just alternated pouring both all over the holes i poked in the cake (with a fork) AND i used Butterfinger instead of toffee. this cake was bomb, fire, amazing, and probably better than sex..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Sioux City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
VERY good... almost too sweet... Almost!! I think the whipped topping is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Caswell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great! Used several of the modifications that I read. ie: let cake cool, then poked holes into cake with handle of wooden spoon not quite all the way to bottom. Drizzled 1 can sweetened condensed milk alternating with caramel over top of cake. (I did not warm them first) Sprinkled liberally with candy pieces, then let cool completely. Spread whipped topping over all. Then drizzledd with more caramel, Hershey's chocolate and sprinkled more candy pieces. Refrigerated for a couple of hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! I do do it a little differently. I make holes instead of slits. I then pour the condensed milk over the cake first (I do no heat it) and let it soak in. I also use fudge topping in here also, makes it richer!! I then microwave the caramel and fudge topping!! Then I do the whipped cream and heath bars. When I'm feeling daring I sometimes use butterfingers or reeses peanut butter cups instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States