Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious. I altered it slightly (cut up cake, layered the different ingredients, as well as just added condensed milk and caramel as is without heating them together). Brought it for a birthday at work, and a few people said it earned the name. At home we ate the leftovers directly from a serving spoon. It barely lasted the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Brett Dussault

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was ok, nothing special .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I do what the most helpful reviewer does: Right when I pull the cake out of the oven, I take the handle of a wooden spoon and poke holes all over the cake (it doesn't matter if you hit the bottom of the pan or not). I then poor the caramel directly into the holes and then do the same with a full can of sweetened condensed milk. Once the cake cools, I top it with the Cool Whip and then top that with the toffee bars crunched up (Heath & Skor bars seem to work very well). I also make this cake 2 days in advance so it will be more moist and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made this for my husband when we were dating and he proposed the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this cake last night after dinner, then, after reading several reviews stating how much better the cake is the day after it is made, I held off on serving it until today. My bf and I were excited to try it. I followed the recipe, and believe it turned out the way it was supposed to, but the cake to us is just kind of missing something?? Oh how I really wanted to love it! It is so simple to make! I found similar recipes that call for a german choc. cake mix instead of the devils food so Im not going to give up! The next time I am in the mood to bake it, I think I may try that. Also. I used Ms. Richard(sons?) Butterscotch Caramel syrup because we already had a jar of it, and several reviewers suggested it. I may try just a plain caramel syrup next time. I love trying new recipes so I don't regret making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I've been using this recipe for over five years now. It's become my signature cake! A few secrets: Works amazingly well with Duncan Hines' version of Devil's Food Cake. I make this a double layer cake, and only poke holes halfway through each layer. I only use about half the amount of the caramel/condensed milk mixture for the full cake (so a quarter of it per layer). I also add some crushed toffee in between the layers, before I frost it. I drip chocolate sauce across the top instead of caramel, and of course add more crushed toffee bar bits on top as well, and a few strawberries! Seriously, best. cake. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This came out really good. I made it for ladies night at my house. The girls loved. Then my husband came home and he loved it too! I took the advice of another user and added chocolate morsels to the cake batter. Also, I used some of the cake batter to make 12 cupcakes. I omitted the milk because I was concerned about it being too soggy (I'm really picky with textures) and instead I used the handle of my wooden spoon to puncture deep holes through the cake and in the center of each cupcake. Then I filled each hole with caramel syrup, yum! Then I spread the whip cream on top. Topped with the crushed candy and even more chocolate morsels and then drizzled with both caramel and chocolate syrup! Excellent recipe with or without my alterations! thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I haven't made this cake in years. My son asked about this it and I didn't have a recipe so I used this one. It was really good but I think next time I will take the advice of other reviewers. I will use the whole can of sweetened condensed milk & a whole jar of caramel sauce. It is yummy and I would recommend this delicous cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is the recipe I have loved for years - just as "naples34102", I use the whole can of condensed milk & the entire jar of Ms. Richardson's butterscotch caramel topping. Regardless of minute changes, it is hard to mess this up. My favorite dessert, hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christie in mt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Love this cake! But I am a baking snob... :-) I made my own cake. I actually used a chocolate cake recipe and it turned out fabulous. I poked holes with the wooden spoon and poured the milk in first and then the caramel. In the oven as I write this is the same cake but made into cupcake forms. Going to test how this works with cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States