Better Than Sex Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of taking a short cut and not heating the milk or caramel topping. I do think that would have helped it soak into the cake more evenly. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I thought it was edible but I didn't really care for it. I've definitely made better. I think the "chocolate cavity maker cake" recipe from this site is much better. Just pair the cavity maker with some cool whip on the side and voila!!...the easiest, tastiest boxed cake recipe ever! In my opinion the most "pizzazzy" thing about this "better than sex cake" is its name...the flavor is lackluster. I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia-Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
WOW IT IS AS GOOD AS SEX!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
YUM!! I used double the sauce - but 3/4 was carmel and 1/4 chocolate - also the whole can of sweet & cond. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday cake. I used the devil's food cake, I used toothpicks, for the caramel, per reviews, I may want to try something with a bigger diameter, because the cake ended up a lil dry the caramel sat on top or seeped in the corners. Every bite was delicious. I used crushed butterfinger and heath bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this for a potluck at work and it was soooooooooo good! It disappeared fast. I poked the top of the cake with the back of a wooden spoon, made it a day ahead of time so everything soaked in and set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family has made this cake every holiday for as long as i can remember with the name varying depending on ages of kids that are around at the time of talking about it, "BTS cake" is most common. It is amazing but we do it differently. We use German Chocolate cake and, like a previous reviewer, we poke holes with a wooden spoon all over the cake, that is always a fun job for one of the kids to do with adult supervision. We use a lot more sweetened condensed milk and caramel. We bake it in a big sheet pan and we use 2 full cans of sweetened condensed milk filling all the holes and then we go over it with an entire bottle of caramel ice cream topping, again putting it in every hole. We cool the cake COMPLETELY in the refrigerator and we also top with cool whip or your favorite whipped topping. We use toffee sometimes, and sometimes we use sundae nuts, depends on whether the kids will be there or not. Best cake ever but soooo rich. The long it sits in the refrigerator the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acourtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Everyone loves this cake, I make for potlucks and never have any leftover! This is a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Loved loved loved this recipe!!! I have had this cake in the past at a pot luck at work and it was easily one of the best cakes that I had ever had. I hadn't really thought about it until recently as we have pot lucks quite often at my current job... I thought... why not give this recipe a try. Oh em gee! This cake is fantastic!!! It is so moist and gooey, and the crunch from the candy bar and the whipped topping are just the most perfect additions. Everyone, and I mean EVERONE loved this cake. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
A M A A A A ZING!!! Wow. INCREDIBLE. :):):):) Instead of using a boxed cake I used the "extreme chocolate cake" recipe on this website. Man, I was impressed. Literally one of the TWO cakes (9x9) are gone - within 24 hours! There's only two of us here !!!! :] If you haven't tried this yet, you are missing out. This is the BEST CAKE I've ever had in my life. I baked both in 9x9 pans, put a second pan under each so the cake wouldn't boil over & it didn't. I let them both cool down for 15 minutes or so, poked holes in them ALMOST to the bottom of the cakes but not quite & I poured 11oz caramel & most of the sweetened milk into the holes then I put the cakes in the fridge. I agree, the cake is best the second day after the caramel has sat. I sprinkled some heath in the holes while the cake was cooling & I just add the cool whip whenever someone wants a slice. No changes are necessary unless your a super picky person about texture - this was very moist & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thaco0kinmamah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States