Better Than Sex Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I made this cake twice (just to let you know, I am a very experienced cake maker. LOL!). The first time, everything fell apart. The second time I used a spring form pan which held it all together. I have to say this cake was disappointing. My husband said "I can think of ten cakes off the top of my head that you've made that are a million times better than this". We didn't end up finishing it. I guess there is no substitute for homemade cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is a fantastic cake that is very moist and rich....however, I think the current picture is not right as that one is showing a yellow cake. This recipe calls for a German chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
The recipe was awesome. I had to change a few items since I used what I had on hand. I used caramel topping instead of hot fudge and I used a mixture of peanut butter and powdered sugar mixed together into crumbs for the topping. It was a big hint with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I've made this cake 5 times now, and every time I make it, people go nuts and ask for the recipe. I've made one addition - I put some vanilla pudding between the 2 layers of cake. YUMMMMMAAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Wow! Made this cake for my husbands birthday party and it was a HUGE hit! Only change I made was using one-half chocolate syrup and one-half caramel. We'll be making this one again. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I hate to give a low rating, but this cake was way too rich. Even my husband, who can out sweet anyone, coundn't finish his piece. I'll try it again but I will omit the condensed milk and use half fudge half caramel. Thanks for sharing your recipe Teri! **UPDATED 7/23/07** I made this again last night with these changes and it was wonderful. I omitted the condensed milk. I then thinned out a 16oz jar of hot fudge with approximately 1/2 cup of milk. Poured that on top of the cake and frosted with real whipped cream. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Hey, I like sex...but I LOVE cake! I love this cake and so did everyone else who was at the party! Great recipe anyway you choose to top it. I used carmel, but it is great with chocolate too. Make sure the milk is handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamaradt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I've made this twice. Once as exactely written w/ 2C chocolate, and once w/ 1c carmel and 1C chocolate as others have suggested. I probably wont make this again because it is sooooooooooooooo sweet!! We ate it none the less, but w/ huge quantities of milk. If you don't mind super sweet, than this is a perfect and easy cake to make for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Made this yesterday for a birthday party, and everyone loved it...many even agreeing enthusiastically with its' name! Ha! That's kinda sad, even! But, this was delicious, easy, moist, and oh, so decadent! Definitely a guilty pleasure! I used 1 C. Caramel Sauce topping and 1 C. Hot Fudge Sauce topping...just drizzled them both over the cake before the whipped topping and crushed Heath bars. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was so yummy! Very easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States