Better Than Sex Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I've been making this cake for several years. This is the first time I've heard of adding the fudge topping. I always mix a jar of caramel ice cream topping to the sweetened condensed milk and warm it in the microwave so it's easier to pour into and over all those holes. This cake is even better the next day (if it lasts that long). Since we're such big fans of Heath Bars, I use no less than 6 on this cake. This is one of my all time favorite recipes. It's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
i've definitely had better sex than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
This is a super cake to make! Instead of poking holes, I made horizontal slits across the top of the cake, being careful not to go all the way through. Also, instead of pouring on the condensed milk & caramel sauce separately, I heated them up in a sauce pan over low heat & poured it over the cake so it ran into the slits. Sprinkled the Skor (Heath) chunks over the cake & then topped with low fat Cool Whip. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
My family raved. Super moist! I substituted a jar of Caramel for the fudge. Making it in a bundt pan makes it gorgeous too. When you flip it out all the milk and carmel runs back down the sides. Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I hate to give a low rating, but this cake was way too rich. Even my husband, who can out sweet anyone, coundn't finish his piece. I'll try it again but I will omit the condensed milk and use half fudge half caramel. Thanks for sharing your recipe Teri! **UPDATED 7/23/07** I made this again last night with these changes and it was wonderful. I omitted the condensed milk. I then thinned out a 16oz jar of hot fudge with approximately 1/2 cup of milk. Poured that on top of the cake and frosted with real whipped cream. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This cake is very easy to play around with. I've had this with caramel topping instead of fudge and it's delicious. Definitely not for those who are weight concious but a great treat for those who are looking for something sweet. Thanks Teri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
We make this with caramel sundae topping instead of hot fudge - MMMMMMMM!Hint: After adding sweetened condensed milk let cake cool before adding fudge or caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SADIBYRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Made this yesterday for a birthday party, and everyone loved it...many even agreeing enthusiastically with its' name! Ha! That's kinda sad, even! But, this was delicious, easy, moist, and oh, so decadent! Definitely a guilty pleasure! I used 1 C. Caramel Sauce topping and 1 C. Hot Fudge Sauce topping...just drizzled them both over the cake before the whipped topping and crushed Heath bars. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Yummiest cake ever! I don't just use the hot fudge, but also a jar of caramel topping. This is a great cake to bring to potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
ALWAYS A WINNER!!! I made this cake for a party at work and everyone wanted the recipe. It is so easy and that is a key for me. It is so moist and extremely yummy!! Best if chilled thoroughly. I use butter fingers instead of toffee because I can never find toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States