Better Than Sex Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This cake sort of collapsed when I tried to make it into a layer cake. It wasn't pretty, but all our friends agreed that it was better than any sex they had ever had, and they have all had lots of sex! edit: I recently made this a second time and by the end of the night people were eating out of the pan and pratically licking the pan! ....sexy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJBeefStroganoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is requested every year from my kids' elementary school Teacher Appreciation potluck! Made it for the family of a friend who had a hysterectomy to give her something to laugh about. Her husband could'nt get enough.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
After baking the cake mix, I lightly cut a "checker board" pattern into the hot cake, and poured the condensed milk (mixed with a touch of the hot fudge). After cooling, spread the rest of the Hot Fudge. And, topped with Cool Whip and the Heath Bars. After dinner, we cut and this was a gooey, fall apart'y mess. Sooo good, it tasted like the devil made it - but I didn't like how it did not stay together. After sitting in the fridge all night, it was better tasting and cut as it should. CHILL FOR SEVERAL HOURS BEFORE DIVING INTO THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
WOW! I had never made this particular version of the cake, and it was devoured within a few minutes. I did make a few changes. I heated the hot fudge sauce for about 45 seconds in the microwave, and I blended chocolate and french vanilla whipped topping together to spread on the top. It was excellent, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I've made this several times before. Yes it's rich, but eaten in moderation (which is difficult with this one!) it more than satisfies the sweet tooth. Have made this for a group and just for fun, varying it just a little each time. You can't beat sweetened condensed milk. (Especially since the cook gets to scrape the can!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Yummiest cake ever! I don't just use the hot fudge, but also a jar of caramel topping. This is a great cake to bring to potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this cake in a 13x9 cake pan and just left it in the pan after i made it, then i poked the holes with a wooden spoon. i used a jar of caramel topping and a jar of fudge topping plus a can of the sweetened condensed milk. I topped it with crushed butterfinger bars and cool whip. my whole family loved it but co workers said it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grandview, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
No, it's not better then sex, but it is certianly very good. This cake disappeared quickly in my house. Thanks for sharing Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It's not often that my family will polish off an entire cake in the course of a couple of hours, but I saw it happen today with this recipe. It was not nearly as rich as I had expected, but absolutely delicious, and oh so moist! I did change a couple of things, of course. I poked holes with the end of a wooden spoon, as others had suggested, and I used caramel topping instead of chocolate. The biggest changes I made were these: I didn't use the toffee since I forgot to buy it at the store, so I substituted chopped pecans; I also mixed about half a package of french vanilla instant pudding mix with the whipped topping. Absolutely superb! I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aggie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geneva, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made this for Father's Day, and it was a huge hit. I also warmed up the sweetened condensed milk with some caramel ice cream topping before I poured it on the still-warm cake. You go into this recipe knowing you'll come out with something excessively rich - how could it NOT be, with chocolate fudge and sweetened condensed milk and crushed toffee bars? My coworkers devoured the rest of it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States