Better Than Sex Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! This is an absolute KEEPER!! If you are looking for the best chocolate cake ever this one is a must try. :) This should have 10 stars....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Very good! I mixed the fudge topping and the sweetened condensed milk together and poured them both over the warm cake and it turned out great. Very rich though, I wasn't able to finish my piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by honeychildnh
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is so good! I made this for my mother's birthday and it was a complete hit!! I used caramel instead of hot fudge....perfect! When the cake was gone, my son licked the pan clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeychildnh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I've also been making this cake for years. It's always a hit at potlucks. I have to say though, the "true" recipe calls for caramel not hot fudge. I've never heard of using hot fudge on this. Recommend using Mrs. Richardson's butterscotch caramel topping (heat it up a bit before pouring into holes). And yes, you must make the holes (don't just pour the stuff on top or make slits). Use the end of a wooden spoon. The holes allow for the condensed milk and the topping to absorb into the cake. This cake is VERY sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Followed the recipe and directions exactly as written. I had high expectations, with the name and all, but the cake wasn't as great as I hoped. I've had other cakes that I would consider better than sex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My boyfriend had this at a party and requested it. I used caramel topping instead of fudge because that's his favorite. I also made my own whipped cream. Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love this cake!!!! I tasted this cake at a pot luck and have always wanted to try and make it. It was very easy to make and the whole family loved it. It tastes a lot better if left in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe was simply "heaven" wich, I've also renamed the recipe. I've made it five times & it is an enormous hit with everyone everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Wow. I didn't know cake could be this good! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the cool whip topping. I made my own icing (1.5 c. whipping cream, 3/4 c. 10x sugar and 6 tsp baking coaco). I also used a fudge recipe from this site. The cake was wonderful, although I suggest eating it same day, as the bottom starts to get pretty soggy after a day or so. Overall, I loved it an will be making it many more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsOtto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
What can I say this was awesome! Better than sex? Maybe? Anyhoo, my husband and I ate most of this cake by ourselves. Serve with coffee or milk as it is a bit sweet, but other than that this cake is a hit. I will be making this again. Next time I will poke more holes in the cake so that the sweet milk will become more absorbed into the cake, but with that said it was easy and yummy!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States