Better Than Sex Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I made this cake twice (just to let you know, I am a very experienced cake maker. LOL!). The first time, everything fell apart. The second time I used a spring form pan which held it all together. I have to say this cake was disappointing. My husband said "I can think of ten cakes off the top of my head that you've made that are a million times better than this". We didn't end up finishing it. I guess there is no substitute for homemade cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is a fantastic cake that is very moist and rich....however, I think the current picture is not right as that one is showing a yellow cake. This recipe calls for a German chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belinda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
The recipe was awesome. I had to change a few items since I used what I had on hand. I used caramel topping instead of hot fudge and I used a mixture of peanut butter and powdered sugar mixed together into crumbs for the topping. It was a big hint with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I've made this cake 5 times now, and every time I make it, people go nuts and ask for the recipe. I've made one addition - I put some vanilla pudding between the 2 layers of cake. YUMMMMMAAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Wow! Made this cake for my husbands birthday party and it was a HUGE hit! Only change I made was using one-half chocolate syrup and one-half caramel. We'll be making this one again. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I hate to give a low rating, but this cake was way too rich. Even my husband, who can out sweet anyone, coundn't finish his piece. I'll try it again but I will omit the condensed milk and use half fudge half caramel. Thanks for sharing your recipe Teri! **UPDATED 7/23/07** I made this again last night with these changes and it was wonderful. I omitted the condensed milk. I then thinned out a 16oz jar of hot fudge with approximately 1/2 cup of milk. Poured that on top of the cake and frosted with real whipped cream. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Hey, I like sex...but I LOVE cake! I love this cake and so did everyone else who was at the party! Great recipe anyway you choose to top it. I used carmel, but it is great with chocolate too. Make sure the milk is handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamaradt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I've made this twice. Once as exactely written w/ 2C chocolate, and once w/ 1c carmel and 1C chocolate as others have suggested. I probably wont make this again because it is sooooooooooooooo sweet!! We ate it none the less, but w/ huge quantities of milk. If you don't mind super sweet, than this is a perfect and easy cake to make for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Made this yesterday for a birthday party, and everyone loved it...many even agreeing enthusiastically with its' name! Ha! That's kinda sad, even! But, this was delicious, easy, moist, and oh, so decadent! Definitely a guilty pleasure! I used 1 C. Caramel Sauce topping and 1 C. Hot Fudge Sauce topping...just drizzled them both over the cake before the whipped topping and crushed Heath bars. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was so yummy! Very easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Steioff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States