Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
I recently held an 'American Thanksgiving' dinner party (I live in Australia) and cooked this pie for the first time. It was an absolute hit with every guest and really made the meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
This is so good! I think it is the fresh butternut squash that makes it even tastier than a normal pumpkin pie! I add a little more squash to make bulk up the pie filling! I could eat the entire pie myself ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
Oh my gosh! This was so easy and SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This is the BEST "Pumpkin Pie" I, and my children, have EVER tasted! It is a HIT, and EASY!! I am telling everyone I know....Or maybe keeping this secret to myself and making it for guests...Won't they be suprised! THANKS BARBARA, you have a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
Great texture, great taste, everyone loved it. It was very easy to make. This was the first pie I ever made and it was to die for. Totally outrageous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
I usually don't care for pumpkin pie, because of the strong flavor of the pumpkin. This squash pie with the butternut squash is just fabulous. Great served warm, with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I received very positive comments when I served this. Delicious, rich flavor, though I personally thought it was a little on the heavy side. Perhaps an additional egg and a little extra cream might make it a little more custardy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This pie was great in all respects except one--it was FAR too spicy (and I like spicy food)! I will probably cut the spices in half next time. Other than that, the squash tasted GREAT, and I loved the texture (it was watery when I put it into the oven, but came out perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This pie was a hit at Thanksgiving! It tastes richer than pumpkin pie and butternut squash has more nutritional value than pumpkin. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The butternut squash worked out fine and I like the idea but this recipe was FAR too spicy. I tried again with half the spices and it was still too strong for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States