Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Came out great! I don't know what constitutes a pinch, so I used two shakes of each spice. I had to cook it a little longer than called for as the center had not set, but a pie shield kept the crust from getting too brown. No one knew it wasn't pumpkin and it's so easy to get fresh butternut squash already peeled and cubed (Trader Joe's), there's no reason not to use this fresh instead of canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Photo by BEPOSITIVE
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Served this at Thanksgiving and did not reveal the true main ingredient until after my family ate it. None of us thought this pie lived up to its name. It was good, but I think it could have used a little more of the spices, especially cinnamon. Not a bad alternative, for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEPOSITIVE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was definitely tasty, but it needed something more. It is kind of bland. I will make it again but add more squash, and lots more spices. It's a good recipe, though, because it has all the basic stuff you need and you can be a little relaxed about the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I microwaved a small butternut sq. for three minutes to make it easy to cut and easy to peal. No puncturing necessary, it won't blow up. I ground both my allspice and cloves in a crucible. I added all 5 of the spices to a room temperature beaten egg and let set 30 minutes to bloom/release the taste(Std. Minnonite trick for all recipes using spices and eggs). I substituted 1/3 cup each of the following sugars: white, brown and corn syrup (Std cowboy trick for richer taste). At 35 minutes I placed a shield over the edges. I used a crust calling for cold unsalted butter and ice water and cut 1" overhang with shears and folded under the edge and used my nuckle inside and two pinching fingers outside to form the edge. Squash/slide extra dough into center bottom to combat crust shrinkage. One guy at the Thanks Giving table ate three pieces and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
I made this pie for friends & they pronounced it fabulous. For the squash: Cut in half & microwave cut side down in a dish w/ 1/4 " water approx. 15 minutes. Cool & scoop out flesh. Super Easy to work with. Sooooooooooooooo smooth & not too sweet. I plan on making it for Thanksgiving. Forget canned pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Since 11/04/04,I have made 326-pies,51-two layered cakes.Of all the Pumpkin pies I have made,this recipe is one of the best.Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is really good! It has a nice, consistent, smooth texture. I omitted the allspice, cloves, and nutmeg because I didn't have any on me. THESE ARE ESSENTIAL!!!!! But, nonetheless, very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by damitWS6
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
I cooked the squash in the oven before peeling and instead of boiling-worked great. Also made real pumpkin to compare. The squash was so smooth, the pumkin still had some strings. Everyone enjoyed the sqaush better than the pumpkin, but do wait until they are enjoying it to tell them it's not pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damitWS6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving last year. It was good but not that much better than pie made with canned pumpkin and much more labor-intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This pie tasted wonderful and very creamy. My husband quickly declared it "better than his mother's." Now that's saying something! I had run out of nutmeg and the pie STILL tasted great. Can't wait to make it with all the spices. Yum, even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States