Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
My first time making a fresh squash pie. Only made pumpkin pie from a can and advised against making pie from fresh pumpkin. I haven't figured out why it took me almost double the about of baking time, but it turned out wonderful. Will do this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Has anyone tried this with pumpkin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was my first time making a pie from fresh squash. Actually it was my first time doing anything with a fresh winter squash! It can't believe how easy it was! I prepared the squash itself a couple days ahead (I had planned to make it that day but I was missing a couple ingredients), refrigerated it and processed it with the remaining ingredients later. I don't think I've ever tasted pumpkin pie made from fresh pumpkin rather than canned, but this tastes so much better than a canned-pumpkin pie! My fiance, who was almost afraid to taste it because he isn't big on squash, absolutely loves this! He agrees that it's better than pumpkin :) I believe I'll be making this recipe several more times this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Awesome! Dad said "This is what pumpkin pie wishes it were."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It has become a staple at my family's Thanksgivings. My son told me the week before Thanksgiving (he's away at college now), 'I've been thinking about that pie for weeks!' I prefer draining the puree overnight through cheesecloth, and I bake the squash (halved) in about an inch of water. Much easier than peeling and chopping a raw one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was good, but I was not convinced that it tasted any different from actual pumpkin pie. It had a good texture, but I took 1 star away because really I think it is just easier to open a can of pumkpin than to go through all the mess and hassle with the squash, especially since you can't really tell the difference. No one at the Thanksgiving table was really able to taste any difference between this and the real pumpkin pie. Probably unlikely that I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this pie last year, and again this year, and it was a smash hit both times. Everyone said their favorite pie was the "pumpkin", and they were astounded when I told them it wasn't pumpkin, but butternut squash! I absolutely recommend this recipe! Edited to add: I made this AGAIN two days later for church, but used regular orange squash (fresh still) and it came out just as good, if not better than the butternut. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This makes a pretty tasty pie. If I didn't know it wasn't pumpkin I probably wouldn't guess that it wasn't. I accidentally grabbed condensed milk (oops) so I just left out the sugar and subbed the can of condensed milk for the evaporated. Even still, the pie was really creamy, and it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is why I cannot wait until autumn! I love, love, love it and my husband does too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow. I really wanted a pumpkin pie, but I like them made from fresh pumpkin and they were all sold out here. This was fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of doing the squash in the oven. I think next time I'll just follow ALL of the directions and boil it. Either way, this is a fantastic pie and well worth the trouble. After this, you'll never eat an autumn time pie out of a can again! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States