Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is DELICIOUS!! So much better than canned pumpkin, and really easy. I baked the squash to preserve flavor and nutrients. It's good with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Melts in your mouth !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I had never made any kind of pumpkin pie before, but this one turned out so well that I never WILL make a "real" pumpkin pie! The butternut squash was easy to work with, and the whole recipe was simple. The only slight problem I had was getting the pie into the oven without spilling, since it was quite liquidy before cooking (but it turned out the perfect consistency). We had it with whipped cream on top--yum! The second time I made this pie, I didn't have any of the frozen/unbaked pie crusts. I used a graham ready-made pie shell, and it turned out great! The liquid seeped into the crust, giving it some flavor and preventing it from burning in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
There will be no more pie crust in our house again, my husband preferred this to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was a great pie! My kids thought it was pumpkin and ate it up. Will be making this instead of pumpkin from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
YUMMM! This was the first pie I ever mnade and it was voted the best pie at Thanksgiving dinner! I lined the crust with crushed gingersnaps and substituted pumpkin pie spice for the mixture of spices. It was flavorful and creamy and light. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The butternut squash worked out fine and I like the idea but this recipe was FAR too spicy. I tried again with half the spices and it was still too strong for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This pie was a hit at Thanksgiving! It tastes richer than pumpkin pie and butternut squash has more nutritional value than pumpkin. It's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This pie was great in all respects except one--it was FAR too spicy (and I like spicy food)! I will probably cut the spices in half next time. Other than that, the squash tasted GREAT, and I loved the texture (it was watery when I put it into the oven, but came out perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
I received very positive comments when I served this. Delicious, rich flavor, though I personally thought it was a little on the heavy side. Perhaps an additional egg and a little extra cream might make it a little more custardy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States