Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Awesome. Veggie hating hubby only tried it to make me happy, but ended up going for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I made some adjustments 1/2 sweet condense milk, 1/4 brown sugar, and grated fresh ginger. I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1tsp butternut extract. Pie was very tasty. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Femmelle chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It was a great recipe, next time I will opt for less brown sugar because it was a little too sweet for my liking. I would also recommend adding some flour for a thicker consistency. Other than that...it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I used 2 tsp of the premixed pumpkin pie spice instead of the individual spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
It definitely tasted different from pumpkin pie, but I loved it! It was a little too sweet for me as is, so maybe next time I'll decrease the sugar a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
The texture and flavor of this pie was spot on to pumpkin pie. My entire family loved it. Unlike other reviewers, I thought the spices were good and weren't too overpowering. The only thing I didn't like was I thought the recipe didn't make a thick enought filling. Even in my smallest pie dish there was room to add more filling. Something I'm going to have to tweak for my own pans I guess, but overall, I'll be making this pie again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIK_IT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was a big hit here! It's my new "pumpkin pie" for the holidays. I followed it exactly except for the crust I made a "graham cracker" crust using crushed ginger snap cookies. Ridiculously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsylove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
So, so, yummy!! It was delicious! The only thing I did different was instead of boiling the squash i like to roast it. Cut the squash in half, smother the inside with butter, and roast it, cut side down, in the oven. (375* for 45 min.) I think next time I might go a little less brown sugar, for my taste, but my family loved it the way it was. I had some saying it tastes like pumpkin pie and some said it tasted like sweat potato pie. One squash made two pies! Great alternative to pumpkin pie this Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
my hubby loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was pretty good and a great way to use the other half of a left over butternut squash. Figure about 1.25lbs of squash for a pie. I doubled the recipe and cut the sugar by 25%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States