Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I used a small butternut squash from my garden and had about 2 cups of mashed squash, so I figured my pie would be thicker, but went ahead and upped the spiced like suggested and used 2 eggs. This was a very smooth pie. Tastes just like pumpkin pie, but I don't think I had enough spices. My filling made 2 pies, so if I'd doubled the amount of spices from what I used, it might have been amazing. I think next time I'll throw some oatmeal in there just to be different and to give some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I have made this twice: once with butternut squash, peeled and boiled, using almond milk to replace the evaporated milk and following the rest of the recipe exactly. The second time, I used a buttercup squash (round, flat topped, greenish) and added a 2nd egg instead of the cornstarch (still used almond milk due to a cow's milk allergy). Both were baked in flan cups in a bain-marie in a 325 degree oven. The second version was much more flavourful and richer with the 2 eggs. It was so amazing that I could not stop eating the finished product!! While both versions are very good; the second one is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I was a pumpkinpie or any pie rookie, until i deciced to try this recipe out! It was awesome, I took the recipe and changed and used lofat milk for the evap milk and it went smooth also used splenda brown sugar mix and flour and lof fat margarine and made a crust for lower sweetness and poss. diabetes person in house. it went glowingly thickened up well and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
wow,, this pie is sooo creamy and smooth.. just like i remember pumpkin pie.. it tastes just like it, same color, same everything LOL .. mine wasnt that pretty but its really good. changes i made (due to reviewers saying it wasnt enough filling): 1 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 1/2 cup MASHED butternut squash (about 2 3/4 cup chopped) 1 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 medium eggs, 1 tbsp cornstarch, 1/8 teaspoon cloves, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and ginger each. soo good! baked 55 minutes then turned off the oven and left it in there 10 more minutes.. i made this with the butter flaky pie crust from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
interesting recipe!! after reading a few reviews, i added in more spices (1.5 tsp cinnamon, and maybe a double pinch of all the rest...i didn't have allspice) because i didn't want it to be tasteless. it wasn't! now that the pie is cool, it's not as solid as i think pumpkin pie is, but it's more of a 'melt in your mouth' type of taste...not as gritty as pumpkin pie (maybe b/c there's no white sugar in this?). overall tasty, but a lot more work than buying a can of pumpkin at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This pie is awesome!! I couldn't find the Butternut squash at the store so I bought a Spaghetti squash. I was a little nervous because I was making this for my husband to take to a Thanksgiving lunch at work. I baked the squash..and it is weird because it looks like spaghetti! Once it is in the food processor it comes out smooth. The people my husband works with were raving about it. I was so relieved...I am making another for our Thanksgiving celebration. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
It beats pumpkin pie from a can for sure! I used pumpkin pie spice instead of dividing it out into its components like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I just tried 6 different recipes using canned pumpkin and fresh pumpkin and also this recipe. We also threw a piece of store bought pumpkin pie for the taste test. I wasn't expecting much from this one as the squash puree was really watery and still lumpy after processing over and over, but it ended up surprising everyone. It turned out a nice dark color and was our favorite tasting pie of the bunch. I subbed Splenda brown sugar mix. Great recipe, will be using this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The flavor of this pie was just right. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because I didn't think there was enough filling to fill the pie crust. Next time I may increase the recipe by half as suggested by another reviewer. Also, I had to bake this for an additional half-hour (the last 10 minutes at 375).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is awesome! What a great way to use squash. I've made this twice in the last week. The first time I made as-written and it was excellent, the second time, I increased the recipe by half (to make a thicker pie) and upped the spices significantly and I liked it even better. Thanks for a classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States