Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This recipe was awesome. Everyone thought it was pumpkin pie. They were even more surprised when I told them it was butternut squash because it tasted so good. Thanks for this great information on how to use up squash! I only put in half the sugar called for because I like my desserts a little less sweet, but other than that I made it just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My family really thought it was pumpkin pie and did not believe me at first until they saw the recipe. Did not change a thing, recipe perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
WOW this was incredible! I did however make a few changes to lighten the calorie load. I used Splenda brown sugar and fat free condensed milk. I was worried that because of smaller amount of sugar the "btter" looked watery so I added about an extra cup or so of squash. it still appeared pretty liquidy but baked it and hoped for the best. IT WAS DELICIOUS!! even my 12 year old son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I no longer make pumpkin pie EVER. I make my filling ahead and freeze so when I'm busy around the holidays all I have to do is defrost and fill my crusts. I brag about this recipe (even though it isn't mine) and share it with anyone that bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I make this for my husband to take into work all the time....his co workers rave about it.... I am actually now making the pies for some of them for Thanksgiving and charging $12 a pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrichardson3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Really Yummy! I like it the same as pumpkin can't say I would want one over the other. I will be making this for Thanksgiving see what the family thinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was Great, my kids thought I was lying when I said there was no pumpkin in it. My husband request I make 2 pies for his poker game. Thanks for a recipe that helps me to use up some of the squash from my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is a very tasty recipe. I made it for my family and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! My squash was already pureed, yet I still used 1.5 cups because that's an amount that a pumpkin pie would usually called for. I added 1/2 tsp of salt because I didn't want to take the chance of it being bland. This baked 75 minutes and the knife still wasn't clean when coming out, but I didn't want to have the crust get any harder and the filling any darker. 2nd time: I baked like a pumpking pie, for 15 mins @ 425 then 40 mins @ 350, and it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Wonderful! I used pumpkin pie seasoning and this was perfect. If you leave out the egg and milk, you're ready to use this in any recipe calling for pumpkin pie mix (maybe the cornstarch too, but I left that in without a problem - will leave it out when freezing mix). Very handy since every store seems to be fresh out! Thanks for the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States