Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Well, I scrunched my face up at the thought of 'peeling' squash. That's a pretty hard shell to peel. Since the instructions didn't say to cook it first, I decided the best thing to do was to cut up the squash, and cut away the shell. It worked pretty well, the squash cooked fairly quickly in water. My medium squash (about 2-3 pounds) made plenty - enough for two pies, I'd say. This was my first homemade pie. It turned out very well, tasted just like pumpkin. I will make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was so delicious. We taste tested three pumpkin pies and this was by far the best!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. This will be the only 'pumpkin' pie I ever make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Fabulous! Definately a hit at the dessert table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Great pie, easy to make, and I got to use my crucible to grind the fresh cloves. I used six and it was a little bit strong but still very good. I made a double pie crust and added a tbl spoon full of vinegar to the crust which is my secret ingredient. Don't ever think spices are as good out of a bottle as fresh ground. I will always use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I loved this pie. It is definitely better than pumpkin pie. You don't need a very big squash to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hubby liked this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This has got to be the easiest pie in the world to make! And one butternut squash can make about 4 pies. I put a touch of orange extract in it one time and it has a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is DELICIOUS!! So much better than canned pumpkin, and really easy. I baked the squash to preserve flavor and nutrients. It's good with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Melts in your mouth !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I had never made any kind of pumpkin pie before, but this one turned out so well that I never WILL make a "real" pumpkin pie! The butternut squash was easy to work with, and the whole recipe was simple. The only slight problem I had was getting the pie into the oven without spilling, since it was quite liquidy before cooking (but it turned out the perfect consistency). We had it with whipped cream on top--yum! The second time I made this pie, I didn't have any of the frozen/unbaked pie crusts. I used a graham ready-made pie shell, and it turned out great! The liquid seeped into the crust, giving it some flavor and preventing it from burning in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States