Better Than Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Great pie, easy to make, and I got to use my crucible to grind the fresh cloves. I used six and it was a little bit strong but still very good. I made a double pie crust and added a tbl spoon full of vinegar to the crust which is my secret ingredient. Don't ever think spices are as good out of a bottle as fresh ground. I will always use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I loved this pie. It is definitely better than pumpkin pie. You don't need a very big squash to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUECOVELLBUTLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Hubby liked this very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This has got to be the easiest pie in the world to make! And one butternut squash can make about 4 pies. I put a touch of orange extract in it one time and it has a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is DELICIOUS!! So much better than canned pumpkin, and really easy. I baked the squash to preserve flavor and nutrients. It's good with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Melts in your mouth !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I had never made any kind of pumpkin pie before, but this one turned out so well that I never WILL make a "real" pumpkin pie! The butternut squash was easy to work with, and the whole recipe was simple. The only slight problem I had was getting the pie into the oven without spilling, since it was quite liquidy before cooking (but it turned out the perfect consistency). We had it with whipped cream on top--yum! The second time I made this pie, I didn't have any of the frozen/unbaked pie crusts. I used a graham ready-made pie shell, and it turned out great! The liquid seeped into the crust, giving it some flavor and preventing it from burning in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
There will be no more pie crust in our house again, my husband preferred this to the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This was a great pie! My kids thought it was pumpkin and ate it up. Will be making this instead of pumpkin from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
YUMMM! This was the first pie I ever mnade and it was voted the best pie at Thanksgiving dinner! I lined the crust with crushed gingersnaps and substituted pumpkin pie spice for the mixture of spices. It was flavorful and creamy and light. amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States